Wednesday Music News

  • Duluth-based band Low, whose members are going into their 20th year as a band together, have released “Just Make It Stop” from the Jeff Tweedy-produced The Invisible Way out on Sub Pop on March 18th. The album will be their 10th, and the slowcore pioneers have upped the tempo on this track — it’s the closest you could imagine to a pop track from the melancholic, slow-burning band. [SPIN]

  • Brian Eno has released a video for “Day of Light” off of last November’s LUX, his first album on Warp. When the album was initially released, it was streamed four specific times during the day to coincide with the four stages of light in a day — sunrise, day, sunset, and night. The video is a collage of fan-submitted photos which capture, as the submission guidelines asked, those four types of light during which the album was heard. Eno initially received around 6,000 submissions for the project, which he then whittled down to the few that appear in the four minute sampling of sounds from LUX which comprise “Day of Light”, which you can stream below. [Consequence of Sound]

  • Widowspeak have released a third song from their soon-to-be-released second LP Almanac on Captured Tracks. “Thick As Thieves” is a gloomy folk song with piratical harpsichords and accordions haunting in the background. Tacoma native Molly Hamilton’s darkly delicate phrasing lends the track its unique beauty. Just two more weeks until the album’s release. [Stereogum]

  • My Morning Jacket frontman Jim James has released another new song from Regions of Light and Sound of God for streaming only at The album is inspired by Lynd Ward’s 1929 wordless wood-cut graphic novel, maybe one of the first true graphic novels, called God’s Man. The song has a highly spiritual and redemptive sentiment — as the title might suggest — and it sounds just a bit like solo George Harrison at times. But the song is a mini-story in and of itself and as such changes dramatically from beginning to end in a way that reflects the lyric. Regions of Light and Sound of God is out February 5th on ATO. [Rolling Stone]
  • Willow Smith sampling Radiohead? Yep. Willow Smith just dropped a track — a really doleful, mature-sounding track — on which she sings over a sample of the falling piano chords on “Codex”. The lyrics on “Sugar & Spice” are a heartfelt outpouring of the young celebrity’s feelings of dejection dealing with life and fame. And it’s easy to forget her whip-my-hair fame (as well as her famous parents) after hearing this new track. Check it out below. [SPIN]

This entry was posted in KEXP, Music News and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories