Out This Week 2/26

Radiohead fans are tweaking for today’s release of Thom Yorke’s new project, Atoms for Peace. The group – featuring producer Nigel Godrich on keys, Ultraista’s Joey Waronker on drums, Flea on bass, and Forro in the Dark founder Mauro Refosco on additional percussion – formed originally as the backing band to tour Yorke’s solo album, The Eraser, back in 2009, but they gelled so completely that they returned for a masterful and moody new LP. Our Music Director, Don Yates, calls AMOK “an adventurous set of hypnotic electro-rock with densely textured, intricately constructed songs featuring twitchy, interlocking rhythms, buzzing synths, atmospheric guitars and Yorke’s floating vocals.” Fans will call it amazing! Also, high on our playlist is second release from Autre Ne Veut. Pronounced “oh-truh nuh vuh”, this project of Brooklyn’s Arthur Ashin “is a bolder, more pop-oriented take on his blend of ‘80s-influenced electro-pop and bedroom R&B, with a cleaner and fuller sound featuring celestial ‘80s synths, sleek guitars and woozy hip hop beats accompanying Ashin’s emotive, falsetto-laden vocals and dark lyrics.” Fans of How To Dress Well, Jamie Lidell and 80’s dance will dig it!

It’s hard to believe but after all these years and an active career, former Smiths guitarist Johnny Marr is just getting around to his first proper solo album. Although Marr half jokes about the debut in an interview when he says, “The idea sometimes of a solo record is that it gives you an excuse or a possibility to explore but it’s not at all exploring, the irony is that I’ve made a twelve track record that I think sound like Blondie,” the fact is that he’s more free here than with The Healers or any of his many collaborations to make the songs he wants to play, regardless current trends. Indeed, The Messenger “is a solidly constructed set of jangly rock that makes a fine showcase for Marr’s ringing guitar work.”

Other new releases you’ll want to pick up this week come from Montreal artist (and Grimes cohort) Airick Woodhead, a.k.a. Doldrums), whose debut “is a mesmerizing set of fractured electro-pop with frenetic, densely textured songs combining chopped samples, trippy ambient textures, industrialized tribal beats, eerie falsetto vocals and sticky pop melodies”; Swedish group Shout Out Louds, whose fourth LP “is a smooth set of polished, ‘80s-inspired pop-rock, with a lushly produced sound combining guitars, synths, piano, strings, woodwinds and other instrumentation with warm harmonies and soaring pop hooks”; Seattle band Grave Babies, whose sophomore effort is anything but that; it’s actually “a bracing set of noisy, goth-tinged post-punk, with a murky, lo-fi sound featuring fuzzy, grimy guitars, warped synths, industrialized drum-machine beats and dramatic, multi-tracked vocals”; new Australian band Gold Fields, whose debut is “a sleek set of New Waveish dance-pop with a polished sound featuring bright synths, flashy guitars, propulsive, occasionally tropical rhythms, smooth vocals and catchy pop hooks”; and Chapel Hill, NC’s Mount Moriah, whose second album is “a fine set of roots-tinged indie-rock with a stark, haunting sound combining rumbling rock guitars and stately rhythms with occasional violin, pedal steel and other instrumentation accompanying Heather McEntire’s quivering, soulful vocals reminiscent at times of Dolly Parton.”

Speaking of veteran country crooners, Emmylou Harris & Rodney Crowell team up on their first full-length together, after nearly four decades of friendship and years of collaboration. Old Yellow Moon is full of vintage sounds, covers of country classics and Crowell originals, and a wealth of worldclass musical guests. Seattle’s Ivan & Alyosha are hardly a duo, but the indie folk group looks to days of yore for their warm harmonies and comfy campfire folk-pop. And new Discord label group Deathfix features some post-punk veterans, Fugazi’s Brendan Canty and producer/composer/remixer Rich Morel, who started a side project together after touring in Bob Mould’s band. Deathfix sounds nothing like these bandmates’ previous projects, with its 70’s retro garage-glam sound, but that makes it all the more fascinating.

Be sure to sample all of these and more recommended releases, including two Slumberland releases from Girls Names and Golden Grrrls, gathered below before heading out to your local record store:

Atoms For Peace – Default
from AMOK on XL Recordings

Autre Ne Veut – Play by Play
from Anxiety on Software Recordings

BRAINSTORM – She Moves (MP3)
from “She Moves” single on Tender Loving Empire

The Civil Wars & T Bone Burnett – Long Time Gone
from A Place At The Table Soundtrack on Sensibility Music

Deathfix – Transmission
from Deathfix on Dischord

Doldrums – Anomaly (MP3)
from Lesser Evil on Arbutus Records

The Embassy – Livin’ Is Easy
from Sweet Sensation on International

Girls Names – Pittura Infamante
from The New Life on Slumberland Records / Tough Love

Gold Fields – Dark Again
from Black Sun on Astralwerks

Golden Grrrls – Past Tense
from Golden Grrrls on Slumberland Records

Grave Babies – Over and Under Ground (MP3)
from Crusher on Hardly Art

Wayne Hancock – Ride
from Ride on Bloodshot Records

Emmylou Harris & Rodney Crowell – Hanging Up My Heart
from Old Yellow Moon on Nonesuch Records

Isaac Delusion – Transistors
from Early Morning EP on Cracki Records

Ivan & Alyosha – On My Way (MP3)
from All the Times We Had on Dualtone Records

Kacey Johansing – Enemy (MP3)
from Grand Ghosts (self-released)

Johnny Marr – Upstarts
from The Messenger on Warner Bros.

Mister Lies – Lupine (MP3)
from Mowgli on Lefse Records

Mount Moriah – Younger Days (MP3)
from Miracle Temple on Merge Records

Photo Ops – Someplace (MP3)
from How To Say Goodbye on We Are Solid Gold

Sally Shapiro – What Can I Do
from Somewhere Else on Paper Bag

Shout Out Louds – Illusions
from Optica on Merge Records

This entry was posted in KEXP, Out This Week! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories