Monday Music News

photo by Victoria Holt

  • Tycho, aka designer Scott Hansen, has an enthralling in new video for “Ascension” off his album Dive. The video is very similar to the visuals behind his show during 2012’s Decibel Festival – kaleidoscopic, colorful, psychedelic, clearly created with design, not just music, in mind. This video features a silhouetted woman wandering through a desert of rippling colors and a magnificent ruby red sun. [Pitchfork]

  • Queens of Stone Age have a new creepy 3 minute trailer for “I Appear Missing” animated by Boneface. They’ve been upping the creepy factor for their upcoming album release by having strange pop up sites that include receiving a weird phone call from some strange internet source, but the video is probably the best part of it all. It’s gory and strange, complete with blood, a devil like man at a gas station, and rats and crows galore. [Pitchfork]

  • Perhaps my favorite piece of news today – Adult Swim has a new free compilation,  Garage Swim, available for free download today. Fans of garage, psyche, freak out, punk, and generally all the garage rock of current day will be super pleased – the comp features Thee Oh Sees, Black Lips, King Khan and the Gris Gris, King Tuff Feat. Gap Dream, Jeff the Brotherhood, Bass Drum of Death, and more. And it’s all free. Perfect way to start summer? I think yes. 
  • Lauryn Hill has been involved in some unlikely drama surrounding taxes etc etc, but has just signed a deal with Sony in which she will be releasing 5 new tracks as well as a new album, alongside opening her own record label – Observe Creation Music. We have one of those five tracks today – “Neurotic Society (Compulsory Mix)” below. As always, the track is catchy but feels innovative, just as expected from the woman who’s prolific enough to get such a huge deal from Sony. [Pitchfork]

  • Spoon has announced a new album and released a track listing – “We’ve been hanging out at [drummer/producer Jim Eno‘s] a lot in the past couple months and we’re still in the writing stages, but the shit is sounding good.” Not sure there’s much else to say – the new album will follow their 2010 Transference – keep watching their instagram for more in-studio photos. [Pitchfork]
  • Jim James got a remix from the tUnE-yArDs as part of promoting the new Global Citizen Ticket Initiative – where fans post videos and raise money to heighten awareness about global issues. “A New Life” now has a second life, with the tUnE-yArDs classic afro-beats and hand claps now making the track a bit busier and dancier than before. Stream at Rolling Stone.
  • There are two great albums available for streaming today – so if you’re at work and aren’t already tuned into our stream, allow me to suggest either California based electronic duo Classixxx’s album Hanging Garden over at NPR, or the bright, chillwave, widescreen pop of Small Black‘s The Limits of Desire at Pitchfork Advance.
This entry was posted in KEXP, Music News and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories