Out This Week 6/11

Florida band Surfer Blood couldn’t wait until summer to release their anticipated sophomore album of poppy, surf-influenced indie rock, but that’s just as well, as Pythons takes a relatively darker turn. Our Music Director, Don Yates, praises the new album for its “more polished and streamlined sound” and its “cleaner, more straightforward guitar lines, less complicated rhythms and simpler melodies.” It’s clear that the band has more in mind than just sun drenched good times, but you’ll still find a few of those there besides. Also, turning a bit from the sun is Scottish brother duo Boards of Canada, whose first album in eight years, Don Yates calls “a dark, densely layered and sonically impressive set of ambient electronic grooves fleshed out with chilly synths, hip hop and dubstep-influenced beats, mysterious vocal fragments and eerie dream-world melodies.” Brightening things up is British producer Gold Panda, whose second album “is a transportive set of diverse electronic grooves reflecting his travels around the world with a warm, sample-driven sound combining exotic samples, glitchy textures, skittering beats and hypnotic melodies.” And KEXP favorite Joseph Arthur returns with his 10th studio album, featuring “a well-crafted blend of folk-rock, psych-pop and soul, with a full, ‘70s-influenced sound featuring guitars, piano, organ, horns and more.”

Other new releases you’ll want to check out this week come from former Drive-By Trucker Jason Isbell, whose latest, and most personal to date, is “a stark, intimate, well-crafted and often-powerful set of roots-rock with deeply personal lyrics dealing with love and addiction”; John Vanderslice, another KEXP favorite, whose new LP of “mostly low-key set of psych-tinged folk-pop” was crafted after a lengthy breakup; former Bad Seed Mick Harvey, whose new solo album “is a contemplation on romantic love, featuring a mostly dark, brooding sound on a mix of striking covers and evocative originals”; Bay Area group Sonny & The Sunsets, whose latest is “a concept album about aliens and death, featuring a suitably dark, post punk-influenced sound with eerie synths, atmospheric guitars and quirky lyrics”; Houston-based Nigerian-American rapper Fat Tony, who offers “a diverse set of quality hip hop ranging from bbq bangers to socially conscious critiques of same-sex marriage opponents and gentrification”; and multinational Edinburgh-based trio Young Fathers, whose aptly titled second release, Tape Two, is “another adventurous EP/mini-album of expansive hip hop with a dense, busy sound, fierce raps and smooth singing”.

There’s more to be found new on record store shelves today, including the latest from Seattle’s Case Studies, Brazilian dance punks CSS, NYC-based songwriter Emily Wells, and the comedic SNL-bred group The Lonely Island, featuring Akiva Schaffer, Jorma Taccone, and Andy Samberg. Be sure to sample some of this week’s interesting new releases below before heading out to your favorite record shop today.

Joseph Arthur – Black Flowers
from The Ballad of Boogie Christ on Lonely Astronaut

Boards of Canada – Reach For The Dead
from Tomorrow’s Harvest on Warp Records

Case Studies – Driving East, and Through Her
from This Is Another Life on Sacred Bones Records

CSS – Hangover
from Planta on SQE Music

The 88 – I Saw The Light That Day
from Fortune Teller (self-released)

Estrangers – Cape Fear (MP3)
from Season of 1000 Colors on Phuzz Sounds

Fat Tony – I Shine (MP3)
from Smart Ass Black Boy on Young One Records

Josephine Foster – Shay Shay (MP3)
from Little Life on Fire Records

Gold Panda – We Work Nights
from Half Of Where You Live on Ghostly International

Mick Harvey – I Wish That I Were a Stone (MP3)
from Four (Acts of Love) on Mute

Jason Isbell – Stockholm
from Southeastern on Thirty Tigers

The Lonely Island – YOLO (feat. Adam Levine and Kendrick Lamar)
from The Wack Album on Republic Records

Lust for Youth – Breaking Silence
from Perfect View on Sacred Bones Records

Mixhell – Exit Wound
from Spaces on Last Gang Records

People of the North – Drama Class (MP3)
from Sub Contra on Thrill Jockey Records

Piano Magic – The Slightest of Threads (MP3)
from Life Has Not Finished with Me Yet on Second Language

Sonny & The Sunsets – Dark Corners
from Antenna To The Afterworld on Polyvinyl

Surfer Blood – Demon Dance
from Pythons on Sire Records

John Vanderslice – Raw Wood
from Dagger Beach on Tiny Telephone

Emily Wells – Los Angeles (MP3)
from Mama Acoustic Recordings on Partisan Records

Young Fathers – Mr. Martyr
from Tape Two on Anticon

This entry was posted in KEXP, Out This Week! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories