Out This Week 7/2

It’s a very short list of new releases this holiday week, so you can probably tie your record store shopping to your quest for 4th of July BBQ supplies. While you’re stocking up on burgers, weiners, beer and soda, you might stop to grab the latest from British producer Zomby, whose third album, our Music Director, Don Yates, describes as “a sprawling 2-CD set containing 33 mostly short tracks of dark, beat-driven instrumentals blending elements of hip hop, dubstep, grime and drum ‘n’ bass, combining ominous synths, booming beats and eerie melodies.” Okay, so that’s maybe a bit more for the light night, post-fireworks me-time, but you are in a more active mood, try the new album from Belize’s The Garifuna Collective, who carry on after the death of their frontman, Andy Palacio, with “another impressive set of Garifuna music, a heavily African-influenced, percussion-driven music with hypnotic call-and-response chanting.” If you’re in a rebellious or even dangerous mood, try the new LP from post-punk legends The Fall. Their 30th(!) album not only follows but “makes up” for 2011’s Ersatz GB, which The Fall’s frontman, Mark E. Smith, admits to being “not very good” but warns that 2013’s Re-Mit “is going to terrify people. It’s quite horrible,” adding, “The Fall have had enough and we’re coming for you.” Further danger abounds on the latest from The Builders and the Butchers, whose post-apocalyptic landscape of sound and song draws inspiration from the works of Cormac McCarthy. If song titles like “Blood Runs Cold”, “Hellfire Mountain” and “Desert Fire” don’t scare you off, you’ll find howlin’ good fun in the Portland band’s latest round of boot-stompin’, yell-alongs.

So get out there now to check out these and other new releases out this week:

The Builders and the Butchers – Dirt in the Ground (MP3)
from Western Medicine on Badman Records

Danny Michel with The Garifuna Collective – Blackbirds Are Dancing Over Me
from Black Birds Are Dancing Over Me on Stonetree / Cumbancha

The Fall – Hittite Man
from Re-Mit on Cherry Red

The Garifuna Collective – Ubóu (The World)
from Ayó on Stonetree / Cumbancha

A Grave With No Name – Aurora (MP3)
from Whirlpool on Lefse Records

Grant Olney – Not From Body (MP3)
from Hypnosis for Happiness (self-released)

Owen – Bad Blood
from L’Ami du Peuple on Polyvinyl Records

Pretty Lights – Around The Block (feat. Talib Kweli)
from A Color Map of the Sun (self-released)

Shortcircles – All I Can Be For You
from Between Waves on Plug Research Music

The Toxic Avenger – Romance & Cigarettes Edit (MP3)
from Romance & Cigarettes EP on Roy Music

from Ladders EP on FatCat Records

Zomby – With Love
from With Love on 4AD

This entry was posted in KEXP, Out This Week! and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories