Out This Week 7/16

While it’s a fairly slow summer week for new releases, there are definitely some terrific Northwest releases to get you shopping at your favorite record store today. In the past three years between their second and third albums, Seattle’s Feral Children seem to have grown into men… wild men, sure… but more fully fledged as musicians. Regarding their new self-released LP, Too Much, Too Late, our Music Director, Don Yates, calls it “their most polished and song-oriented effort to date” adding that “the band have tightened up the shaggier aspects of their sound, focusing on song craft while still providing plenty of edgy rock thrills on a consistently strong set of songs with buzzing guitars, atmospheric keyboards, impassioned vocals and lots of potent song hooks”. Also writing hooky as hell music is Seattle band La Luz, who will undoubtedly increase their buzz quotient exponentially with their excellent new 7-inch single “blending surf, ‘60s girl groups and other vintage styles into summery pop gems.” A bit more on the darker side is LA-via-Portland duo Soft Metals, whose second LP “is another first-rate set of dark, goth-tinged electro-pop with icy synths, pulsating rhythms and ethereal vocals”. And darker still but still rooted in pop and the blues is the second album by iconoclastic director David Lynch, the follow-up to his 2011 debut, Crazy Clown Time.

Among other interesting new releases out this week is the latest from former Swervedriver Adam Franklin & Bolts of Melody, the sophomore LP from Denver noise pop group Gauntlet Hair, and the second release from the Justin Vernon-curated label, Chigliak, with a re-issue of singer/songwriter Sarah Siskind‘s 2003 debut, Covered. Check all of these and more below before heading out to your local record store today:

BEACH – Love Was A River
from In Us We Trust on Short Story Records

Andrew Cedermark – At Home
from Home Life on Underwater Peoples Records

Matt Corby – Resolution
from Resolution on Elektra Records

Dead Boots – Saturdays
from Verónica on North Street Records

Feral Children – Rewind the Rerun (MP3)
from Too Much, Too Late (self-released)

Adam Franklin & Bolts of Melody – Asha (MP3)
from Black Horses on Goodnight Records

Gauntlet Hair – Bad Apple
from Stills on Dead Oceans

A Grave With No Name – Aurora (MP3)
from Whirlpool on Lefse Records

Mayer Hawthorne – Her Favorite Song
from Where Does This Door Go on Republic Records

Svavar Knútur – While the World Burns (MP3)
from Ölduslóð (Way of Waves) on Red Eyed Transit

La Luz – Brainwash
from Brainwash 7″ on Suicide Squeeze

David Lynch – I’m Waiting Here (feat. Lykke Li)
from The Big Dream on Sacred Bones

Pet Shop Boys – Axis
from Electric on X2

Sarah Siskind – Covered
from Covered on Chigliak

Smallpools – Mason Jar
from Smallpools EP on RCA Records

Soft Metals – Tell Me
from Lenses on Captured Tracks

White Dove – Cold Mountain
from The Hoss, The Candle on RSRCH+DVLP

White Fence – be right too
from White Fence (reissue) on God?

WL – You’re Not Really Here (MP3)
from Hold on Prospect & Refuge

This entry was posted in KEXP, Out This Week! and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories