Thursday Music News

photo by Brittney Bollay

  • Along with a delightfully handwritten note detailing her intentions in creating her upcoming album, Glasser (Cameron Mesirow) released a new track, “Shape,” as a prelude to the album which is due out in October. Cameron writes, “I have been thinking about space. Not only outer space and physical boundaries but also inner mental space…I thought about architecture, a physical imposition in my life, and the fluid emotional boundaries of relationships, also sometimes imposed.” Read Mesirow’s full note here and watch the mesmerizing visual for Glasser’s appropriately titled “Shape.” [Pitchfork]

  • Ann Arbor’s perpetually unfazed shogaze quartet Pity Sex recently released their first full-length album, Feast of Love. The band’s official video for the album opener, “Wind Up,” directed by Alex Henery, follows the band as they calmly move through what seems like their average Friday night. It’s reminiscent of angstily driving around one’s hometown in that high school-like limbo, having exhausted every remotely interesting activity within a 20-mile radius and feeling overwhelmed by uncontrollable introspection. [Stereogum]

  • Cass McCombs is starting to develop a reputation for quickly producing large quantities of music. After presenting two full-length albums in 2011, the Baltimore-based singer/songwriter has announced a 22-song LP, Big Wheel and Others, due out on October 14th. Listen to “There Can Be Only One,” the first low-key, feel-good track available from the new album. [CoS]

  • We have yet to see the full picture (if there is one) of what hard-hitting rap group Death Grips is up to, but after brazenly ditching their Lollapalooza show with a morbid note in what may have been an art installation/publicity stunt, the trio canceled August tour dates and are now back with a dark, abrasive new track, “Birds,” achieving what Nick Allbrook of Pond praises as pure energetic aggression. Listen below. [SPIN]

  • Heartfelt Scottish indie rockers Frightened Rabbit have announced a new EP due out in early September. Among three new songs is “Radio Silence,” consistent with Frightened Rabbit’s standard sweeping, energetic refrains and sincere lyrics. It’s worth a listen, especially if you’re a fan of Pedestrian Verse. Plus Scott Hutchison’s terrific accent steals the show. [Stereogum]

  • The Antlers’ Darby Cicci has embarked on a solo journey as School of Night, taking a break from the usual melancholy of The Antlers to experiment with synths and elaborately soundscaped worlds. What began as a personal project for Cicci will result in a self-titled EP on October 15th. The multi-instrumentalist shares one of the tracks, “Lying,” early. [UtR]

  • Speaking of solo projects, Walkmen frontman Hamilton Leithauser is currently working with indie royalty, including members of The Shins, Vampire Weekend and Fleet Foxes, to produce an album which should be out next year. [Pitchfork]
  • Solo projects are hot! The National’s Bryce Dessner has many talents, now including being a recorded composer. His debut, Aheym, meaning “homeward” in Yiddish, was performed by Kronos Quartet and features four of his original compositions. Look for the EP out on November 5th. [UtR]
This entry was posted in KEXP, Music News and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories