Monday Music News

photo credit: Jim Bennett

  • Congratulations to Macklemore x Ryan Lewis for last night’s win for “Favorite Rap/Hip-Hop Album” at the 2013 American Music Awards. The Seattle duo accepted their award while on tour in Florida, via video remote, and used the opportunity to speak out on racial profiling — watch their video below: []

  • Josh Tillman, better known as Father John Misty, recently scored the soundtrack to his wife’s film, The History of Caves. Stream the score below, which Sub Pop Records will be releasing this weekend in a limited-edition run of 2,000 vinyl pressings for the Black Friday edition of Record Store Day. (And don’t forget, you can get the in-studio rendition of “Hollywood Forever Cemetery Sings” on Live at KEXP, Vol. 9, available through the end of the year!) [Consequence of Sound]

  • Our “hoodrat friends” The Hold Steady are releasing their sixth album in 2014, but in the meanwhile, they’re doing some crowd-funding for a covers EP. Titled The Unified Scene, after the band’s fan club, it’ll feature a pick from each band member. And for a donation, you could get a haircut from guitarist Tad Kubler, a musical tour of Memphis from other guitarist Steve Selvidge, bartending services from bassist Galen Polivka, or a “stay positive” pep talk from frontman Craig Finn. Check it out here, and watch a solo session from Finn, recorded at KEXP in 2012 here. [Stereogum]
  • Portland’s CASH Music is also using crowd-funding to support a year’s worth of summit events across the country, bringing together musicians and technologists in Atlanta, Chicago, New York City, and, of course, Seattle. The summits will feature new ideas, conversations, and workshops, along with guest speakers/performers like John Roderick, Kristin Hersh, and Damon Krukowski (Galaxie 500, Damon and Naomi). Click here to help back their project.
  • Vinyl collectors, get ready: The xx are re-releasing their 2012 album Coexist and their self-titled 2010 debut in limited edition 7″ box sets, where each album’s 11 songs will be pressed on 11 individual 7″ records. Only 1,000 will be pressed, and pre-orders are being accepted now. Watch a track from their 2012 KEXP in-studio below: [Pitchfork]

  • Speaking of reissues, Merge Records are celebrating their 25th anniversary by re-releasing albums from their back catalog throughout 2014, kicking things off in January with Lambchop‘s masterful 2000 album Nixon. You can get it on 180-gram vinyl and double-CD, and both come with White Sessions 1998: How I Met Cat Power, a remastered live solo session from Kurt Wagner at Radio France. [Pitchfork]
This entry was posted in KEXP, Local Music, Music News and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories