Monday Music News

photo courtesy of Stereogum

  • HBO’s Girls kicked off their third season last night with a very special guest: Kim Gordon of Sonic Youth and Body/Head. Gordon played “Mindy,” an inmate at a rehab facility alongside regular character Jessa. Click here to watch the season premiere, and skip ahead to 7:35 and 14:07 to see Kim. [Stereogum]

  • For more “girls,” check out the latest single from Dum Dum Girls, “Rimbaud Eyes,” a nod to 19th-century French poet Arthur Rimbaud. Their third album Too True comes out January 28th on Sub Pop, and they’ll be playing Saturday, April 5th at Neumos with Portland band Blouse. [Spin]

  • Today, LIARS have announced their followup to their 2012 album, WIXIW. Due March 25, Mess will find the LA band “not only facing their fears-but chewing them up and spitting them back out in all their technicolour glory”, or at least that’s what their press release says. Here’s a new song, “Mess On A Mission”, for you to preview:

  • Austin City Limits continue their excellent 2014 series with this weekend’s episode featuring Neko Case and former Drive-By-Trucker Jason Isbell. Watch below: [Stereogum]

  • Earlier this morning, John Richards celebrated the anniversary of Johnny Cash‘s 1968 recording At Folsom Prison, and today we have a previously unreleased recording of Cash’s to share. His son John Carter uncovered the master tapes of a full-length album, Out Among the Stars, which Legacy Recordings will be releasing on March 25th. The album features duets with June and his old friend Waylon Jennings. Carter tells Rolling Stone magazine, “I really love this song. The depth that’s there reminds me of the real serious stuff that Dad did later in his life. And I truly think it’s one of the beautiful undiscovered gems in my dad’s catalog.” [Rolling Stone]

  • Late last week, KEXP faves Parquet Courts took to the stage at Late Night With Jimmy Fallon to perform “Stoned and Starving,” off last year’s release Light Up Gold. Were they actually fed and lucid? Stream their TV performance below and judge for yourself: [Pitchfork]

  • Merge Records are celebrating their 25th anniversary this year with a slew of awesome re-issues, and they’ve just announced another one: the 1997 Superchunk album Indoor Living. The album will feature new liner notes from bassist Laura Ballance, and will come with a download of a concert recorded at Duke University in 1997. Travel back to the ’90s with this classic video for the track “Watery Hands,” featuring comedians David Cross and Janeane Garofalo. And isn’t that a VCR? [Pitchfork]

This entry was posted in KEXP, Music News and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories