Out This Week 2/11

There’s lots to love in the record stores this Valentine’s Day week, like the aptly titled Hotel Valentine, the first release in fifteen years from New York City duo Cibo Matto. If you’re in a more somber mood, check out the album Benji from Sun Kil Moon aka Mark Kozelek (ex-Red House Painters), featuring guest appearances from Will Oldham and Sonic Youth’s Steve Shelley. KEXP Music Director Don Yates calls the release, “a powerful set of dark folk-pop, featuring spare accompaniment comprised of guitar along with occasional other instrumentation fleshing out emotionally direct, mostly autobiographical songs of love and death.”

More highlights for the week include the latest from Tacoma hard-rock trio Helms Alee, a live album from Band of Horses, Hands, the new side project from The Field’s Axel Willner, a new EP from 90s-revival band Speedy Ortiz, a new solo album from Crowded House co-founder Neil Finn, and the latest from desert blues band Tinariwen.

Band of Horses – No One’s Gonna Love You
from Acoustic at the Ryman on Brown/Kobalt

The Casket Girls – Same Side
from True Love Kills the Fairy Tale on Graveface

Cibo Matto – MFN (feat. Reggie Watts)
from Hotel Valentine on Chimera

Deleted Scenes – Stutter
from Lithium Burn on Park the Van/Nevado

Disco Doom – Rice & Bones
from Numerals on Exploding in Sound

Doug Keith – You Can’t Stand To Be Alone
from Pony on The Village

Fanfarlo – Myth of Myself (A Ruse to Exploit Our Weaknesses)
from Let’s Go Extinct on Blue Horizon

Neil Finn – Divebomber
from Dizzy Heights on Lester Records

The Glitch Mob – Can’t Kill Us
from Love Death Immortality on Glass Air

Noah Gundersen – Ledges
from Ledges on Dualtone Music

Hands – Beelitz-Heilst├Ątten pt6
from The Soul Is Quick on Ecstatic

Helms Alee – Tumescence
from Sleepwalking Sailors on Sargent House

Hurray for the Riff Raff – I Know It’s Wrong (But That’s Alright)
from Small Town Heroes on ATO Records

Illum Sphere – The Ghosts of Then and Now
from The Ghosts of Then and Now on Ninja Tune

Let’s Wrestle – Codeine and Marshmallows
from Let’s Wrestle on Fortuna Pop

Modern Baseball – Rock Bottom
from You’re Gonna Miss It All on Run for Cover

Solvent – Burn the Tables
from New Ways on Suction

Speedy Ortiz – Everything’s Bigger
from Real Hair EP on Carpark

Sun Kil Moon – Micheline
from Benji on Caldo Verde Records

Temples – Mesmerise
from Sun Structures on Fat Possum

Thug Entrancer – Death After Life IV
from Death After Life on Software

Thumpers – Unkinder (A Tougher Love)
from Galore on Sub Pop

Tinariwen – Imidiwan Ahi Sigdim
from Emmaar on Anti-

This entry was posted in KEXP, Out This Week! and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories