Out This Week 3/18

It’s an excellent week for new releases, led by the latest from Philly-based psychrockers The War on Drugs. KEXP Music Director Don Yates describes their third album, Lost In The Dream, as “another expansive blend of psych-tinged guitars, atmospheric keyboards, occasional horns and other instrumentation, hypnotic, often-motorik rhythms, folk-rock melodies and Dylanesque vocal phrasing.” They’ll be LIVE on KEXP on Friday, March 28th at 1:00 PM PT.

Another highlight this week comes from Southern garage-rockers Black Lips, whose new album, Underneath The Rainbow, adds “stronger shades of blues, country and vintage rock ‘n’ roll, while continuing to sharpen their songwriting on a variety of mostly dark, hook-filled songs.”

Chilean rapper Ana Tijoux returns with “another excellent set of ‘90s-steeped hip hop inflected at times with reggae, samba and other styles, combining a mostly organic sound with prominent horns, flute, acoustic guitars and strings with a variety of banging beats and her slinky vocals.” The second solo album from Broken Social Scene founding member Kevin Drew is a “beautifully crafted set of atmospheric indie-pop with a dreamy, easy-flowing blend of acoustic and electric guitars, ethereal synths, propulsive rhythms, intimate vocals and lyrics about sex, love and emotional intimacy.”

In reissues, Merge Records presents a remaster of Richard Buckner‘s 1994 debut album, Bloomed, complete with bonus tracks. And Numero Group release the Unwound box set, Rat Conspiracy, which collects their albums Fake Train and New Plastic Ideas along with a third album of 7” singles, radio sessions, compilation appearances, and unreleased tracks from 1993 and 1994.

Ana Tijoux – “Vengo”
from Vengo on Nacional Records

Bappi Lahiri – “Mausam Hai Gaane Ka”
from Bombay Disco: Disco Hits from Hindi Films 1979-1985 on Cultures of Soul

Black Lips – “Boys In The Wood”
from Underneath the Rainbow on Vice

The Coathangers – “Follow Me”
from Suck My Shirt on Suicide Squeeze

Coffinworm – “Lust Vs. Vengeance”
from IV.I.VIII on Profound Lore

Evian Christ – “Waterfall”
from Waterfall EP on Tri Angle

Frànçois & the Atlas Mountains – “Ready to Dive”
from Piano Ombre on Domino

Dead Rider – “Blank Screen”
from Chills on Glass on Drag City

Dexter Romweber Duo – “Jungle Drums”
from Images 13 on Bloodshot

Foster the People – “Coming of Age”
from Supermodel on Columbia

Freddie Gibbs / Madlib – “Deeper”
from Piñata on Madlib Invasion

Hauschka – “Agdam”
from Abandoned City on Temporary Residence

Ibibio Sound Machine – “Let’s Dance (Yak Inek Unek)”
from Ibibio Sound Machine on Soundway

Kevin Drew – “Body Butter”
from Darlings on Arts & Crafts

Lyla Foy – “Feather Tongue”
from Mirrors the Sky on Sub Pop

Magic Touch – “YOU w/ NEWBODY & OCTO OCTA”
from Palermo House Gang on 100% Silk

Perfect Pussy – “Driver”
from Say Yes to Love on Captured Tracks

RA Scion & VOX MOD – “Fixed”
from Sharper Tool; Bigger Weapon on SCIONtific Records

Richard Buckner – “Gauzy Dress in the Sun”
from Bloomed on Merge

Ringworm – “Hammer of the Witch”
from Hammer of the Witch on Relapse

Sisyphus – “Rhythm of Devotion”
from Sisyphus on Asthmatic Kitty

The Strypes – “Blue Collar Jane”
from Snapshot on EMI Records

Tycho – “Awake”
from Awake on Ghostly International

Unwound – “Valentine Card”
from Rat Conspiracy on Numero Group

The War on Drugs – “Red Eyes”
from Lost in the Dream on Secretly Canadian

This entry was posted in KEXP, Local Music, Out This Week!. Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories