Out This Week 5/27

Recover from the holiday weekend with some new music, like the latest from KEXP favorite Sharon Van Etten. KEXP Music Director Don Yates describes her fourth release as, “a masterful set of brooding folk-pop… the album features a sparsely produced, mostly slow-burning sound with solemn piano and organ, muted guitars, stately rhythms and occasional horns accompanying her rich, emotive vocals and often-dark, intimate lyrics of troubled relationships.”

Montreal-based composer/violinist Owen Pallett shares his fourth solo album, a “more personal lyrical perspective to his sumptuous, neo-classical orchestral pop while also injecting a bit more rock energy into these intricately arranged songs with often-looped violin and other lush strings, brass, piano, synths and more accompanying his wan vocals and lyrics revolving around love and insanity.”

Southern band Lee Bains III & The Glory Fires share “a fiery blend of roots-rock, garage and Southern rock, combining blistering guitar riffs, chooglin’ rhythms and Bains’ whiskey-stained vocals and literate, often-politically charged lyrics.” Soundway Records shares Sound of Siam, the second volume in their Thai music compilation series, that’s “a fascinating set that focuses on ‘70s-era sounds from northeast Thailand, with many of the songs combining traditional Thai styles with psych-rock, funk and other more modern influences.” Hercules & Love Affair recruited a new batch of guest vocalists, including John Grant and Andy Butler, for their third release, The Feast of the Broken Heart.

Long-time collaborators Robyn and Röyksopp pair up for a new release, Do It Again. And Dum Dum Girls’ Dee Dee and Crocodiles’ Brandon Welchez team up for the new project Haunted Hearts. Yates calls their debut mini-album, “a solid outing of psych-tinged pop-rock with fuzzy shoegazer guitars and hazy vocals.”

(Various Artists) Madlib – “Cue 06″
from Our Vinyl Weighs a Ton on Stones Throw

(Various Artists) Petch Asia Band – “Lam Plearn Tua Yaang”
from Sound of Siam, Vol. 2: Molam & Luk Thung 1970-1982 on Soundway

Oren Ambarchi / Richard Pinhas – “Washington, D.C. T4V1″
from Tikkun on Cuneiform Records

Ginger Baker – “Why?”
from Why? on Motéma Music

Lee Bains III & the Glory Fires – “The Weeds Downtown”
from Dereconstructed on Sub Pop

Tomas Barfod – “Pulsing (feat. Nina K)”
from Love Me on Secretly Canadian

Hollie Cook – “Desdemona”
from Twice on Mr. Bongo

Cradle of Filth – “Unbridled At Dusk”
from Total Fucking Darkness on Mordgrimm / Shellshock

Eureka California – “Happy Again”
from Crunch on Happy Happy Birthday To Me Records

Ben Frost – “Nolan”
from A U R O R A on Mute

Future Death – “Basements”
from Special Victim on Bloodmoss

Luke Haines – “Alan Vega Says”
from New York in the ’70s on Cherry Red

Haunted Hearts – “Johnny Jupiter”
from Initiation on Zoo Music

Hercules & Love Affair – “That’s Not Me”
from The Feast of the Broken Heart on Moshi Moshi Records

Hundred Waters – “Down From the Rafters”
from The Moon Rang Like a Bell on OWSLA

Joakim – “On The Beach”
from Tropics of Love on Because

Kiss – “Nothin’ to Lose”
from Kiss 40 Years: Decades of Decibels on Mercury Records / Universal

Kitten – “Why I Wait”
from Kitten on Elektra

Seun Kuti & Egypt 80 – “IMF”
from A Long Way to the Beginning on Knitting Factory Records

Napolian – “Syn”
from Incursio on Software Recording Co.

Owen Pallett – “Song for Five & Six”
from In Conflict on Domino

Richard Pinhas / Tatsuya Yoshida – “Part One – Intro”
from Welcome in the Void on Cuneiform Records

Popstrangers – “Country Kills”
from Fortuna on Carpark Records

Donna Regina – “In The Company Of Friends”
from Holding the Mirror for Sophia Loren on Karaoke Kalk

Reuben and the Dark – “Devil’s Time”
from Funeral Sky on Arts & Crafts

Robyn / Röyksopp – “Do It Again”
from Do It Again on Cherrytree Records / Royksopp / Universal

Rush Midnight – “Fix Me Up”
from Rush Midnight on Last Gang

Chris Schlarb – “Great Receiver”
from Making the Saint on Asthmatic Kitty

Sumerian Fleet – “Orbiting”
from Just Pressure on Dark Entries

Sébastien Tellier – “L’adulte”
from L’ Aventura on Universal

They Might Be Giants – “Am I Awake?”
from Idlewild: A Compilation on Idlewild Recordings

Trash Talk – “Cloudkicker”
from No Peace on Odd Future Records

Sharon Van Etten – “Every Time The Sun Comes Up”
from Are We There on Jagjaguwar

Watter – “Rustic Fog”
from This World on Temporary Residence Ltd.

This entry was posted in KEXP, Out This Week! and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories