Out This Week 8/19

After a blistering in-studio session at KEXP, young Benjamin Booker has released his self-titled debut album, which KEXP’s Music Director Don Yates calls “a powerful blend of energetic garage rock and postpunk with gritty blues and soul, featuring a variety of visceral songs with explosive guitar riffs, rollicking organ and often-frenetic rhythms accompanying Booker’s raspy vocals and spiritually troubled lyrics.”

Other highlights this week include the latest from New York band Bishop Allen, returning with their first new album in five years, “a fine set of bittersweet indie-pop with jangly guitars, bright synths, bouncy rhythms, wistful melodies and often-melancholy lyrics.” Swedish duo JJ return with “an often-entrancing blend of moody electro-pop, hip hop/R&B, orchestral pop and other styles, combining an ethereal, heavily atmospheric sound with soaring pop melodies and Elin Kastlander’s airy vocals.” Iconic indiepop label Slumberland Records release the latest from Literature, “a fine set of C86-inspired pop-rock with jangly guitars, bright keyboards, relentlessly uptempo rhythms, hazy vocals and sunny melodies.” And UK band The Fat White Family domestically reissue last year’s debut, “a scabrous set of lo-fi garage-rock tinged with elements of psych-rock, spaghetti western and other styles, combining a ramshackle sound with half-buried vocals and seedy, misanthropic lyrics.”

(Various Artists) Bill Miller – “Look Again To The Wind”
from Look Again to the Wind: Johnny Cash’s Bitter Tears Revisited on Masterworks

Ace Frehley – “The Joker”
from Space Invader on eOne Music

Bahamas – “Stronger Than That”
from Bahamas Is Afie on Brushfire

Beach Day – “BFFs”
from Native Echoes on Kanine

Benjamin Booker – “Have You Seen My Son?”
from Benjamin Booker on ATO Records

Bishop Allen – “Start Again”
from Lights Out on Dead Oceans

Castanets – “Out For The West”
from Decimation Blues on Asthmatic Kitty

Connections – “Into Sixes”
from Into Sixes on Anyway

Electric Würms – “Heart Of The Sunrise”
from Musik, Die Shwer Zu Twerk on Warner Bros.

Fat White Family – “Is It Raining in Your Mouth?”
from Champagne Holocaust on Fat Possum

The Gaslight Anthem – “Stay Vicious”
from Get Hurt on Island

Israel Nash – “Rain Plans”
from Rain Plans on Loose Music

James Yorkston – “Great Ghosts”
from The Cellardyke Recording and Wassailing Society on Domino

Jason Feathers – “De Oro”
from De Oro on Totally Gross National Product

JJ – “All White Everything”
from V on Secretly Canadian/Sincerely Yours

Julia Holter – “Don’t Make Me Over”
from “Don’t Make Me Over / Hello Stranger” 7″ on Domino

Julia Holter – “Finale”
from Tragedy reissue on Domino

Kimbra – “Miracle”
from The Golden Echo on Warner Bros

Literature – “New Jacket”
from Chorus on Slumberland Records

Moiré – “No Gravity”
from Shelter on Ninja Tune

Museum Of Love – “In Infancy”
from Museum Of Love on DFA Records

Orenda Fink – “Ace of Cups”
from Blue Dream on Saddle Creek Records

Pallbearer – “The Ghost I Used To Be”
from Foundations of Burden on Profound Lore

Wiz Khalifa – “Promises”
from Blacc Hollywood on Atlantic

This entry was posted in KEXP, Out This Week! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories