Out This Week 6/30

With Independence Day right around the corner, it’s great to see so many new releases out this week on independent labels! Highlights include the debut album from former Late Of The Pier frontman Sam Dust (aka LA Priest). KEXP Music Director Don Yates describes it as “a fine set of eccentric, psych-tinged electro-pop ranging from warped, ‘80s-steeped dance-pop and trippy psych-funk grooves to space-rock ballads and more experimental fare.”

The legendary Neil Young shares his thirty-sixth studio album, a collaboration with Willie Nelson’s sons Lukas and Micah, backed by the Lukas’s band Promise of the Real. The release, titled The Monsanto Years, is a concept album criticizing the infamous agrochemical and agricultural biotechnology corporation. Fittingly, it was during the 2014 Farm Aid benefit concert that Young and the young Nelson siblings began the project.

Milwaukee band Jaill return with “a revamped lineup and a bit more polished sound for their jangly garage-pop.” L.A. band Failure return with their first new album in 19 years, “a solid set of moody, psych-tinged hard rock with grungy guitars, muscular rhythms and potent song hooks.” Swedish hardcore punk band Refused also return with their first new album since 1998’s The Shape of Punk to Come. Matt Pond PA share their 10th full length, The State of Gold, another excellent set of orchestral indie-pop songs.

August Burns Red – “The Wake”
from Found in Far Away Places on Fearless Records

Bilal – “Pleasure Toy” feat. Big K.R.I.T.
from In Another Life on eOne

Cut Up – “Burial Time”
from Forensic Nightmares on Metal Blade

DJ Vadim & Sena – “Grow Slow”
from Grow Slow on BBE

Failure – “Hot Traveler”
from The Heart Is a Monster on INresidence

Goblin Rebirth – “Requiem for X”
from Goblin Rebirth on Relapse Records

Good Old War – “Tell Me What You Want From Me”
from Broken Into Better Shape on Nettwerk

Jaill – “Got An F”
from Brain Cream on Burger Records

LA Priest – “Party Zute / Learning To Love”
from Inji on Domino

The Legends – “Keep Him”
from It’s Love on Cascine

Matchess – “The Law Of Pure Will (or, The Lamentation Of The Greatest Wealth)”
from Somnaphoria on Trouble in Mind

matt pond PA – “Take Me With You”
from The State of Gold on Doghouse

Neil Young + Promise of the Real – “Wolf Moon”
from The Monsanto Years on Reprise / WB

Refused – “Dawkins Christ”
from Freedom on Epitaph

Self Defense Family – “Dave Sim”
from Heaven Is Earth on Deathwish Inc.

Senses Fail – “The Courage Of An Open Heart”
from Pull the Thorns from Your Heart on Pure Noise

Stevie Stone – “Rain Dance ft. Tech N9ne & Mystikal”
from Malta Bend on Strange Music

Twin Danger – “Sailor”
from Twin Danger on Universal

The Velvet Teen – “The Giving In”
from All Is Illusory on Top Shelf Records

Vince Staples – “Señorita”
from Summertime ’06 on Def Jam

This entry was posted in KEXP, Out This Week! and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories