Wednesday Music News

photo by Bebe Labree Besch (view set)

  • Following their soulful set at last weekend’s Capitol Hill Block Party, the Northwest’s own Unknown Mortal Orchestra share a very theatrical video for “Ur Life One Night,” off their latest release, Multi-Love. The clip was directed by Manoj Leonel Jahson, who told Rolling Stone, “I am deeply inspired by the quirky Indian magical-realism from our mythology and wanted to create something rooted, but still visually appealing. The music lent a dream-like quality and the lyric pushed us to the motif of the Goddess being pursued, yet always being out of reach… The visual language naturally led to borrowing heavily from traditional Asian art including miniature paintings from the Mughal period to create multiple dreams-capes and ended up being a sexually charged riot with a fair dose of humor and symbolism.” Multi-Love is out now via Jagjaguwar. [Under the Radar]

  • Legendary New Zealand band The Chills return with their first new album in 19 years! The comeback full-length, Silver Bullets, fires October 30th via, well, Fire. Stream the first single “America Says Hello” below. Founding member and frontman Martin Phillipps will do a solo tour later this year, with a full band tour planned for 2016. There better be Seattle dates. [Pitchfork]

  • Their self-titled debut just came out in February, but French-Cuban twin sister duo Ibeyi already have a new track to share. Stream the single “Exhibit Diaz” below, a reinterpretation of the Jay Electronica song “Better In Tune With The Infinite.” (And watch their KEXP in-studio session from April here.) [Stereogum]

  • Yoko Ono has announced a follow-up to her 2007 release, Yes, I’m a Witch, cleverly titled Yes, I’m a Witch Too, which hits stores on January 22, 2016. The companion full-length features collaborations with Seattle’s own Death Cab for Cutie, as well as tUnE-yArDs, Cibo Matto, Sparks, her son, Sean Ono Lennon, and many more. Check out the track list at this link: [Spin]
  • Titus Andronicus just ended a five-night run at Brooklyn’s Shea Stadium, which concluded yesterday on the birthday of frontman Patrick Stickles. To celebrate, the band crammed in a 24-song set, with two guest musicians (Craig Finn of The Hold Steady and Ted Leo), and nine covers, including Billy Joel, Hold Steady themselves, Lynyrd Skynyrd, Pink Floyd, The Pogues, Bruce Springsteen, and The Replacements. Watch a fan-shot clip of their cover of “Bastards Of Young” below. Who knows what will happen when the band play The Crocodile on Sunday, October 4th here in Seattle. [Stereogum]

This entry was posted in KEXP, Music News and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories