Out This Week 11/13

This week, Anti- Records releases the eight-album Neko Case vinyl box set, Truckdriver, Gladiator, Mule. The collection features her solo discography remastered from their original analog tape and pressed on 180 gram vinyl. There’s also an 80-page photo book, a vinyl slipmat featuring an illustration by Case, and a custom storage box for the whole darn thing. If you’re a good boy or girl, Santa might bring you one for Christmas!

Lafayette, LA band Givers return with their sophomore full-length, which KEXP Music Director Don Yates describes as “a more synth-oriented sound for their rhythm-driven pop-rock, combining sleek synths and guitars with propulsive, occasionally Caribbean-influenced rhythms, alternating male/female lead vocals and sparkling pop hooks.” Former Emeralds guitarist Mark McGuire shares a new solo album, “an intricately crafted set of celestial prog-rock featuring a densely layered blend of atmospheric guitars and keyboards with circular rhythms and occasional vocals.” Brooklyn-based artist Oneohtrix Point Never (aka Daniel Lopatin) releases his eighth album of “adventurous, often-disorienting set of densely produced, experimental electronic grooves.”

Speaking of 0PN, collaborative duo Airbird & Napolian combines the talents of producers Airbird (aka Joel Ford, one-half of Ford & Lopatin alongside Oneohtrix Point Never) and Napolian (aka Ian Evans) for what KEXP’s Alex Ruder describes as a “sharp, propulsive set of blown-out free-wheeling, nostalgia-tinged beats. The initial 2013 single that spawned the project – “In The Zone” – still shines bright while “Go To The Sun” is their unique stab at guitar-fueled sky-scraping pop.” Frankie Cosmos (aka NYC artist Greta Kline) shares “a sweet set of romantic synth-pop full of infectious melodies and nostalgic production that recalls TOPS and Nite Jewel.”

A Tribe Called Quest – “I Left My Wallet In El Segundo”
from People’s Instinctive Travels and the Paths of Rhythm reissue on Sony Legacy

Airbird & Napolian – “Only You”
from Mr. Foolish on Cascine

Alessia Cara – “Wild Things”
from Know-It-All on Def Jam

André Bratten – “Quiet Earth”
from Gode on Smalltown Supersound

Bing & Ruth – “Rails”
from City Lake on RVNG Intl.

Black Lips / The Coathangers – “Freedom Fries”
from “Freedom Fries” b/w “Watch Your Back” 7″ on Suicide Squeeze

The Body / Krieg – “Bottom Of The Bottle, Bottom Of The River”
from The Body & Krieg on At a Loss

Boots – “AQUARIA ft. Deradoorian”
from AQUΛRIA on Columbia

The Brian Jonestown Massacre – “Pish”
from Mini Album Thingy Wingy on A

Buck Owens
from Buck Em!: The Music of Buck Owens, Vol. 2 on Omnivore

Cee-Lo Green – “Tonight”
from Heart Blanche on Atlantic

Chris Isaak – “First Comes The Night”
from First Comes the Night on Vanguard

DJ Paypal – “Awakening”
from Sold Out on Brainfeeder

DM3 – “Speed Freak”
from West of Anywhere on Alive Naturalsound Records

Frankie Cosmos – “Young”
from Fit Me In EP on Bayonet

Givers – “Bermuda”
from New Kingdom on Glassnote

Jeezy – “Where I’m From”
from Church in These Streets on CTE/Def Jam

Jeff Lynne’s ELO – “When I Was A Boy”
from Alone in the Universe on Columbia / RCA / Sony Music

The Knickerbockers
from The Challenge Recordings on Sundazed

Kurt Cobain – “Sappy”
from Montage of Heck: The Home Recordings on Universal Music Enterprises

Lanterns on the Lake – “Faultlines”
from Beings on Bella Union

Le1f – “Koi”
from Riot Boi on Terrible

Mark McGuire – “Earth: 2015”
from Beyond Belief on Dead Oceans

The Most Serene Republic – “Ontario Morning”
from Mediac on MapleMusic

Neko Case
from Truckdriver, Gladiator, Mule box set on Anti-

Norman Westberg – “Frostbite Falls”
from 13 on Room40

Oneohtrix Point Never – “Ezra”
from Garden of Delete on Warp

Panda Bear – “Crosswords (Pete Rock Remix)”
from Crosswords EP (vinyl) on Domino

PC Worship – “My Lens”
from Basement Hysteria EP on Northern Spy

Revenge – “Silent Enemy”
from Behold.Total.Rejection on Season of Mist

Rocket From the Tombs – “Coopy (Schrödinger’s Refrigerator)”
from Black Record on Fire Records

Swallow the Sun – “Abandoned By The Light”
from Songs from the North I, II & III on Sony Music

Tomas Barfod – “Used to Be (ft. Nina K)”
from Glory on Friends of Friends

Ty Dolla $ign – “LA ft. Kendrick Lamar, Brandy & James Fauntleroy”
from Free TC on Atlantic

from Mul.Apin on Trouble in Mind

Wreckless Eric – “Several Shades Of Green”
from AmeERICa on Fire America

Wrekmeister Harmonies – “Night of Your Ascension”
from Night of Your Ascension on Thrill Jockey

This entry was posted in KEXP, Out This Week! and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories