Out This Week 1/25

It’s unquestionably the strongest week of new releases this year (especially since it’s only the third week of new releases). Leading the pack is the highly-anticipated sophomore releases from UK group Savages. KEXP Music Director Don Yates says, “this British band’s excellent second album features a more expansive take on the band’s urgent post-punk with a visceral blend of serrated angular guitars, taut rhythms, commanding vocals and impassioned lyrics embracing love and life in all their messy, often risky glory.”

Seattle trio Night Beats release their third full-length, “their strongest set to date, expertly blending fiery psych-rock with raw garage-rock along with elements of R&B, prog, Latin rock and more on a variety of sharply crafted songs with stinging guitars, hypnotic rhythms and potent song hooks.” Austin-based veterans Shearwater share their ninth album, which “finds them continuing in the more immediate and uptempo vein of their previous regular studio album (2012’s Animal Joy) with this expertly crafted set of majestic, ’80s-steeped pop-rock featuring energetic rhythms, brooding vocals, anthemic choruses and often-politically charged lyrics.”

King of KEXP’s first in-studio, Ty Segall, releases “an uncompromising set of ultra-raw garage-punk with noisy gnarled guitars, pounding, sometimes tempo-shifting rhythmsand dark lyrics about instant gratification and warped emotions.” Former Fiery Furnaces vocalist Eleanor Friedberger shares another “strong set of well-crafted folk-pop combining a warm, ’70s-steeped sound with her honeyed vocals, wistful melodies and personal lyrics of love and loss.” And LA-based producer/multi-instrumentalist Adrian Younge provides a sequel to his 2011 album, Something About April, “another strong set blending moody soul and funk with atmospheric psych-rock. The album features a dark, cinematic sound combining vintage analog keyboards and fuzzy psych-guitars with a variety of guest vocalists including Raphael Saadiq, Bilal and Stereolab’s Laetitia Sadier.”

Abbath – “Winterbane”
from Abbath on Season of Mist

Adrian Younge – “Memories of War (feat. Laetitia Sadier)”
from Something About April II on Linear Labs

Alex Smoke – “Manacles”
from Love Over Will on R&S

The Besnard Lakes – “Golden Lion”
from A Coliseum Complex Museum on Jagjaguwar

Chairlift – “Ch-Ching”
from Moth on Columbia

Conrad Keely – “In Words Of A Not So Famous Man ”
from Original Machines on Superball

DUST – “Alien Prey”
from Agony Planet on 2MR

Eleanor Friedberger – “He Didn’t Mention His Mother”
from New View on Frenchkiss

Fat White Family – “Whitest Boy On The Beach”
from Songs for Our Mothers on Without Consent/Fat Possum

Half Japanese – “That Is That”
from Perfect on Joyful Noise

Jesu / Sun Kil Moon – “A Song of Shadows”
from Jesu / Sun Kil Moon on Caldo Verde Records

John Cale – “Close Watch”
from M:FANS on Double Six/Domino

Lord Raja – “Shook”
from Para on Ghostly International

Lush – “Sweetness and Light”
from Chorus compilation on 4AD

Majeure – “Appalachian Winter Blues”
from Union of Worlds on Constellation Tatsu

Megadeth – “Dystopia”
from Dystopia on Universal

METZ – “Eraser”
from “Eraser” b/w “Pure Auto” 7″ on Sub Pop

Night Beats – “Sunday Mourning”
from No Cops on Heavenly

Penetration Moon – “Sluts In The City”
from Penetration Moon on Burger Records

Plus 8 (aka Richie Hawtin) – “Gymnastiks”
from From My Mind to Yours on !K7 / Plus 8

Pop. 1280 – “Pyramids On Mars”
from Paradise on Sacred Bones

Roly Porter – “4101”
from Third Law on Tri Angle

Ryan Hemsworth – “Surrounded feat. Kotomi & Doss”
from Surrounded on Last Gang Records

Savages – “Adore”
from Adore Life on Matador

The Senior Service – “Hall of Mirrors”
from Depth Charge on Damaged Goods

Shearwater – “Quiet Americans”
from Jet Plane and Oxbow on Sub Pop

Tricky Presents Skilled Mechanics – “Boy”
from Skilled Mechanics on False Idols

Suede – “No Tomorrow”
from Night Thoughts on Suede Limited

This Heat – “Sleep”
from Deceit reissue on Light in the Attic

This Heat – “Health and Efficiency”
from Health and Efficiency reissue on Light in the Attic

This Heat – “24 Track Loop”
from This Heat reissue on Light in the Attic

Tindersticks – “Hey Lucinda”
from The Waiting Room on City Slang

Tortoise – “Gesceap”
from The Catastrophist on Thrill Jockey

Ty Segall
from Emotional Mugger on Drag City

Yoko Ono/Death Cab for Cutie – “Forgive Me My Love”
from Yes, I’m a Witch Too on Manimal

This entry was posted in KEXP, Out This Week! and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories