In Stores Now 3/7

You’ll want to “march” yourself into the record store for this month’s first batch of new releases. Highlights include the latest from Wussy. KEXP Music Director Don Yates notes, “the seventh album from this Cincinnati band led by former Ass Ponys frontman Chuck Cleaver and Lisa Walker is another first-rate set of smartly crafted songs ranging from crunchy, ’90s-influenced rockers to spacious, atmospheric ballads.”

The fourth album from San Francisco-based project Thao & the Get Down Stay Down “is a smartly crafted set of quirky, adventurous pop. Produced by Tune-yards’ Merrill Garbus, the album features Thao & co. adopting a more beat-driven sound with inventive arrangements, funk-inflected rhythms, fractured textures and dark, more personal lyrics revolving around her long-absent father.”

Portland artist M. Ward returns with his eighth album of “atmospheric folk-pop combining a gauzy sound inflected with doo wop and other rootsy styles with his ghostly vocals and breezy melodies.” Brooklyn-based sister duo Prince Rama share “their most polished and pop-oriented release, with an anthemic, ’80s-steeped electro-pop sound inflected with psych-pop, tribal rhythms and more, combining the sisters’ pristine vocals with dystopian lyrics.” Veteran New York band Nada Surf release “a solid enough set of genial pop-rock with mostly mid-tempo songs featuring jangly guitars,” and La Sera blossoms into a duo with the addition of former Vivian Girls bassist Katy Goodman’s husband Todd Wisenbaker, who plays guitar and also occasionally sings. Producer Ryan Adams “provides them with a bit more subdued and rootsy sound for their surf-tinged power pop.”

(Various Artists) The Hammersmith Gorillas – “You Really Got Me”
from PUNK 45: Chaos in the City of Angels And Devils, Hollywood From X to Zero & Hardcore on the Beaches: Punk In Los Angeles 1977-81 on Soul Jazz

Adult Books – “Suburban Girlfriend”
from Running from the Blows on Burger Records / Lolipop Records

Anenon – “Petrol”
from Petrol on Friends of Friends

Anna Meredith – “R-Type”
from Varmints on Moshi Moshi

Ben Abraham – “Speak”
from Sirens on Secretly Canadian

Bill Pritchard – “Saturn And Co.”
from Mother Town Hall on Tapete Records

Chris Forsyth & the Solar Motel Band – “High Castle Rock”
from The Rarity of Experience on No Quarter

The Coral – “Chasing The Tail Of A Dream”
from Distance Inbetween on Ignition Records

Cub Sport – “Come On Mess Me Up”
from This Is Our Vice on Nettwerk

Elephant9 / Reine Fiske – “Occidentali”
from Silver Mountain on Rune Grammofon

Esperanza Spalding – “Good Lava”
from Emily’s D+Evolution on Concord Music Group

Glitterbust – “The Highline”
from Glitterbust on Burger Records

Greg Laswell – “Out Of Line”
from Everyone Thinks I Dodged a Bullet on Concord / Vanguard

Guerilla Toss – “Grass Shack”
from Eraser Stargazer on DFA

Hotel Lights – “Everything Hurts You Now”
from Get Your Hand in My Hand on Bar/None Records

Jennifer O’Connor – “It’s A Lie”
from Surface Noise on Kiam

The Knocks – “Kiss The Sky feat. Wyclef Jean”
from 55 on Atlantic / Big Beat Records

Krokofant – “C.O.T.A”
from Krokofant 2 on Rune Grammofon

Låpsley – “Love Is Blind”
from Long Way Home on XL

La Sera – “I Need An Angel”
from Music for Listening to Music To on Polyvinyl

Lionlimb – “Domino”
from Shoo on Bayonet Records

Loretta Lynn – “Everything it Takes ft. Elvis Costello”
from Full Circle on Sony Music

Luke Top – “Lucky Penny”
from Suspect Highs on Org Music/Grand Gallop

M. Ward – “Girl From Conejo Valley”
from More Rain on Merge

Matthew Bourne – “Daniziel”
from Moogmemory on The Leaf Label

Melaena Cadiz – “California”
from Sunfair on Misra

Miike Snow – “Heart is Full”
from III on Jackalope/Atlantic

Nada Surf – “Rushing”
from You Know Who You Are on Barsuk

Nick Krgovich – “Sunset Tower”
from The Hills on Tin Angel

Poliça – “Lime Habit”
from United Crushers on Mom & Pop/Memphis Industries

Prince Rama – “Now Is The Time Of Emotion”
from Xtreme Now on Carpark

Qluster – “Zweites Kapitel”
from Echtzeit on Bureau B

RNDM – “Ghost Riding”
from Ghost Riding on Dine Alone

Rob Crow’s Gloomy Place – “Business Interruptus”
from You’re Doomed. Be Nice. on Temporary Residence

Robert Pollard – “My Daughter Yes She Knows”
from Of Course You Are on Fire Records

Sego – “Stars”
from Once Was Lost Now Just Hanging Around on Dine Alone

The Snails – “Tea Leaves”
from Songs From the Shoebox on self-released

Sound of Ceres – “Hand Of Winter”
from Nostalgia for Infinity on Joyful Noise

Steven James Adams – “Togetherness”
from Old Magick on Fortuna Pop

Thao & the Get Down Stay Down – “Astonished Man”
from A Man Alive on Ribbon

Third Coast Percussion – “Music for Pieces of Wood”
from Third Coast Percussion & Steve Reich on Cedille Records

Thug Entrancer – “Ronin”
from Arcology on Software

Tonight Alive – “Drive”
from Limitless on Fearless Records

Violent Femmes – “Memory”
from We Can Do Anything on PIAS

Wussy – “Dropping Houses”
from Forever Sounds on Damnably

Yndi Halda – “Helena”
from Under Summer on Burnt Toast Vinyl

This entry was posted in In Stores Now, KEXP and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories