Nordic Playlist with DJ Kevin Cole

photo by Charina Pitzel

KEXP’s own DJ Kevin Cole (our Afternoon Show host and Senior Director of Programming) has curated a special mix for Nordic Playlist, a site that devoted to the best sounds from the North. As he explains to the site, “I went with a mix of mostly newer releases, like the Samaris track, which I love, and songs from the last couple years I love, but I couldn’t resist slipping in a few of my “classic” faves from Sigur Rós, Bjork, Trentemøller, and The Knife. I also included a track from Seattle band ODESZA — they released a deluxe edition of their latest album, In Return, with extra tracks including “Light” which features Little Dragon. I thought that was a fitting way to highlight the Seattle/Nordic connection!”

Check out his playlist below, and stream his mix on Spotify, Deezer, or Tidal.

# Artist Song
1 ODESZA [US] & Little Dragon [SWE] Light
2 Sóley [ICE] Halloween
3 Mr. Silla [ICE] Holding On
4 Vök [ICE] If I Was
5 Aurora [NOR] Runaway
6 View [FIN] Lace ft. LCMDF
7 Kiasmos [ICE/FO] Looped
8 Samaris [ICE] Wanted 2 Say
9 Susanne Sundfør [NOR] Accelerate
10 The Knife [SWE] We Share Our Mother’s Health (Trentemøller Remix)
11 Trentemøller [DEN] Always Something Better (Trentemøller Remix)
12 Tomorrow We Move To Hawaii [NOR] Bamboos Break
13 Hisser [FIN] Forger
14 K-X-P [FIN] Space Precious Time
15 Singapore Sling [ICE] Let It Roll, Let It Rise
16 Teksti-TV 666 [FIN] Tuhatvuotinen harharetki
17 Death By Unga Bunga [NOR] I Can’t Believe That We’re Together
18 Moonface [CA] & Siinai [FIN] Risto’s Riff
19 The Sun Days [SWE] Don’t Need To Be Them
20 Makthaverskan [SWE] Slowly Sinking
21 Westkust [SWE] Swirl
22 Lust For Youth [DEN] Sudden Ambitions
23 Sin Fang [ICE] Sunbeam
24 Alice Boman [SWE] Be Mine
25 Husky Rescue [FIN] Tree House
26 FM Belfast [ICE] Gold
27 John Grant [US/ICE] Sensitive New Age Guy
28 Dungen [SWE] Flickor Och Pojkar
29 Mammút [ICE] Salt
30 Communions [DEN] Out Of My World
31 French Films [FIN] You Are The Sun
32 Pinemen [SWE] Predictions
33 Acid House Kings [SWE] Do What You Wanna Do
34 Júníus Meyvant [ICE] Color Decay
35 The Tallest Man On Earth [SWE] 1904
36 José González [SWE] Let It Carry You
37 First Aid Kit [SWE] Emmylou
38 Mono Town [ICE] No More (Shall I Fear You)
39 Klunks [NOR] All You People
40 Björk [ICE] All Is Full Of Love
41 Apparat Organ Quartet [ICE] 123 Forever
42 Liima [DEN/FIN] Woods
43 Sigur Rós [ICE] Svefn-g-englar
44 The Aristokrasia Project [ICE] Poyekhali Úlfur Eldjárn
45 Jóhann Jóhannsson [ICE] Fordlandia – Aeriel View – Live on KEXP
46 múm [ICE] I Can’t Feel My Hand Any More, It’s Alright, Sleep Still
This entry was posted in Kevin Cole, KEXP and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories