In Stores Now 4/25

This week, you can pick up the latest from the self-described “best punk band in Toronto,” The Greys. KEXP Music Director Don Yates declares it a “more expansive, dynamic and melodic take on the band’s anthemic posthardcore sound, with consistently strong songs exploring themes of identity, racism, depression and other weighty subjects.”

Reunited UK band Lush return with a new EP; their “first new recording in 20 years finds them in fine form with a 4-song EP of shoegazerish dream-pop.” Veteran British band Wire (a band Lush, in fact, covered back in 1991) keep it going with “a solid 8-song mini-album of expansive post-punk.” Speaking of long-running groups, Guided By Voices are back with their we-lost-count album, Please Be Honest. The LP is a solo affair by founding member Robert Pollard, but he’ll be joined on tour by Bobby Bare Jr., Kevin March, Nick Mitchell, and Mark Shue.

Los Angeles multi-musician, composer, and DJ Carlos Niño shares the fourth installment in his “friends” series (including Madlib, Kamasi Washington, and Miguel Atwood-Ferguson). KEXP’s Music Director Assistant Alex Ruder notes the latest, “aptly showcases his signature style of ‘Space Collage Hybrid’ music, a spiritual, orchestral, free-form amalgamation of jazz, New Age, psychedelic, hip-hop, and ambient styles.” And Manchester-based DJ/producer Andy Stott shares his fourth full-length, inspired by Yellow Magic Orchestra, This Mortal Coil, and Dead Can Dance.

Alpha Blondy & the Solar System – “Freedom (feat. Tarrus Riley)”
from Positive Energy reissue on VP Records

Andy Stott – “Selfish”
from Too Many Voices on Modern Love

A$AP Ferg – “Hungry Ham”
from Always Strive and Prosper on A$AP Worldwide / Polo Grounds Music

Benjamin Dean Wilson – “Rick, I Tick Tock”
from Small Talk on Tapete Records

Borderland – “Riod”
from Transport on Tresor

Candlebox – “Vexatious”
from Disappearing in Airports on Pavement Entertainment

Carlos Niño – “It’s All Happening!”
from Flutes, Echoes, It’s All Happening! on Leaving Records

Greys – “No Star”
from Outer Heaven on Carpark Records

Guided by Voices – “My Zodiac Companion”
from Please Be Honest on GBV, Inc.

Higher Authorities – “ …and why not?”
from Neptune on Domino

Josh Kelley – “I’ll Be Standin’ Tall”
from New Lane Road on Sugar Hill

Kid Congo & the Pink Monkey Birds – “La Araña”
from La Arana Es la Vida on In the Red Records

Lush – “Out Of Control”
from Blind Spot EP on Edamame

Mean Jeans – “Michael Jackson Was Tight”
from Tight New Dimension on Fat Wreck Chords

The New Mastersounds – “In The Middle”
from The Nashville Session on The Royal Potato

Nicolas Godin – “Orca”
from Contrepoint on Because Music

Nik Bärtsch’s Mobile – “MODUL 29_14”
from Continuum on ECM

Paul Young – “L-O-V-E (Love)”
from Good Thing on New State

Programm – “Jukia”
from A Torrid Marriage of Logic and Emotion on The Hand

Rufus Wainwright – “A Woman’s Face Reprise (Sonnet 20)”
from Take All My Loves: 9 Shakespeare Sonnets on DG Deutsche Grammophon

Sean McCaul – “Midnight at the Purple Palace Pt. 1”
from Midnight at the Purple Palace on Underwater Peoples

Susanna – “Ebb And Flow”
from Triangle on SusannaSonata

We Are Scientists – “Too Late”
from Helter Seltzer on 100%

Wire – “Nocturnal Koreans”
from Nocturnal Koreans on Pink Flag

This entry was posted in In Stores Now, KEXP and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories