In Stores Now 5/2

It’s true: KEXP is playing the new Beyoncé. Don’t be too surprised, though — KEXP Music Director Don Yates calls the release, “a powerful set of expansive R&B blended with hip hop, electro-pop, reggae, blues-rock, gospel, New Orleans brass band music and more, combining a dark, decidedly non-glossy sound with her versatile, soulful vocals and often-scathing lyrics of infidelity, marital discord and eventual reconciliation, while also reflecting outward onto larger gender and racial issues. Special guests include Jack White, The Weeknd, James Black and Kendrick Lamar.”

Other highlights this week include the debut from Portland-via-Shreveport artist Kyle Craft, “a masterfully crafted, ’70s-steeped blend of Bowiesque glam-rock and warm folk-rock, featuring a full, beautifully arranged sound with electric and acoustic guitars, piano, organ, horns, harmonica and more accompanying his clarion vocals and intricately detailed lyrics.” The sophomore release from Ann Arbor, MI band Pity Sex is “a strong set of brooding shoegazer pop with fuzzy guitars, alternating female/male vocals, melancholy lyrics and wistful melodies.” Luna bassist Britta Phillips strikes out on her own with “a well-crafted blend of breezy, ’60s-steeped pop and atmospheric electro-pop, with the songs split evenly between covers and originals.” The sixth album from Rogue Wave is “a solid set of gentle, psych-tinged folk-pop with jangly guitars, atmospheric keyboards and breezy melodies.” And the Godfather of Ambient, Brian Eno, shares his latest, “comprised of two lengthy pieces (though the second one is segmented into three tracks). The first two tracks are lengthy ambient pieces, the third features spoken word from Peter Serafinowicz, and the fourth and final one is a gorgeous cover of The Velvet Underground’s ‘I’m Set Free.'”

(Various Artists)
from Close to the Noise Floor: Formative UK Electronica 1975-1984 on Cherry Red

(Various Artists) Roman Flügel – “9 Years (DJ Koze Remix)”
from Pampa Records: Vol. 1 on Pampa

A Dead Forest Index – “Tide Walks”
from In All That Drifts From Summit Down on Sargent House

Aesop Rock – “Rings”
from The Impossible Kid on Rhymesayers

Antwood – “Lung”
from Virtuous.scr on Planet Mu

Batida / Konono No. 1 – “Um Nzonzing”
from Konono No. 1 Meets Batida on Crammed Discs

from Lemonade on Columbia

The Blessed Isles – “Confession”
from Straining Hard Against the Strength of Night on Saint Marie

The Bo-Keys
from Heartaches by the Number on Omnivore

Brian Eno – “The Ship”
from The Ship on Opal / Warp

The Boxer Rebellion – “Keep Me Close”
from Ocean by Ocean on Absentee Recordings

Britta Phillips – “Daydream”
from Luck or Magic on Double Feature

Deerhoof / Dal Niente – “meltDown Upshot: 6. Cherubim (Marcos Balter)”
from Balter / Saunier on New Amsterdam

The Egyptian Lover – “Freak-A-Holic”
from 1983-1988 on Stones Throw

Fallujah – “Scar Queen”
from Dreamless on Nuclear Blast

Freeway – “Addiction”
from Free Will on Babygrande Records / iHipHop

Holy Ghost! – “Crime Cutz (Eli Escobar Remix)”
from Crime Cutz EP on DFA

Horse Lords – “Truthers”
from Interventions on Northern Spy

The Jayhawks – “Comeback Kids”
from Paging Mr. Proust on The Jayhawks / Sham

Jaye Bartell – “Tuesdays”
from Light Enough on Sinderlyn

John Doe – “Get On Board”
from The Westerner on Cool Rock Records

JOY – “Ride Along!”
from Ride Along! on Tee Pee

Juan Atkins / Borderland / Moritz von Oswald – “Odyssey”
from Transport on Tresor

Katy B – “Honey”
from Honey on Rinse/Virgin EMI

King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard – “Gamma Knife”
from Nonagon Infinity on ATO

Konono N°1 / Batida – “Um Nzonzing”
from Konono N°1 Meets Batida on Crammed Discs

Kyle Craft – “Lady of the Ark”
from Dolls of Highland on Sub Pop

Lera Lynn
from Resistor on Resistor

Lonestar – “Never Enders”
from Never Enders on Shanachie Records

Martina McBride – “Reckless”
from Reckless on Nash Icon / Universal

Pity Sex – “Burden You”
from White Hot Moon on Run for Cover Records

Plants and Animals – “Stay”
from Waltzed in from the Rumbling on Secret City Records

Rob Zombie – “Well, Everybody’s Fucking In A U.F.O.” NSFW
from The Electric Warlock Acid Witch Satanic Orgy Celebration Dispenser on Universal

Rogue Wave – “California Bride”
from Delusions of Grand Fur on Easy Sound Recording Company

Say Yes – “Once Forward, Twice Back”
from Real Life Trash Mag on Dine Alone

Sixx: A.M. – “Rise of the Melancholy Empire”
from Prayers for the Damned on Eleven Seven

Snarky Puppy – “Tarova”
from Culcha Vulcha on Universal

We Are Scientists – “Classic Love”
from Helter Seltzer on 100% Records

This entry was posted in In Stores Now, KEXP and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories