Wednesday Music News

  • Hot on the heels of their 24-hour sigurrosrouteone feed, Sigur Rós share a video for the song “Óveður.” Directed by Swedish-based auteur Jonas Åkerlund, the clip features work from Icelandic choreographer Erna Ómarsdóttir against the beautiful landscape of Grindavík, a town on the Reykjanes peninsula. Keep an eye out for a cameo from the boys, and catch them Tuesday, September 20th when they play at The Paramount. [Spin]

  • How are there still Nirvana recordings that haven’t seen the light of day? Well, now there’s seven less as a fan has shared a reel he bought off eBay. The previously unreleased tracks seem to have been recorded around the time of In Utero, dated 2/15/93 from Pachyderm Studios. There are alternate versions of “Marigold” and “Dumb,” but the real highlights are a bizarre instrumental titled “Lullaby,” and an untitled song featuring Dave Grohl on all instruments. Check them both out below: [Stereogum]

  • Atmosphere — the Minneapolis based hip-hop duo of Slug and Ant — return with the album Fishing Blues, their ninth full-length together. Today, they share the first track “Ringo”; watch the video below. The press release explains: “The video shows a past-his-prime actor playing a king & jester, mocked by his peers and those that once respected his work—a sharp look at today’s pop culture environment where today’s heroes are tomorrow’s joke.” Fishing Blues hits stores on August 12th via Rhymesayers, with guest appearances from DOOM, Aesop Rock, Kool Keith, and the Grouch. They’ll be at Showbox SoDo on Thursday, September 15th with special guests Brother Ali, deM atlaS, Plain Ole Bill, and Last Word. [Pitchfork]

  • Just the other week, Deerhoof shared an album stream of their forthcoming LP The Magic. As a “thank you” to fans who pre-ordered the release, the band recorded a mixtape of cover songs. Not only do they take on “Goo” by Sonic Youth and David Bowie’s “China Girl,” but they tackle the ’80s Def Leppard classic “Pour Some Sugar on Me.” It’s a pretty funny, and rather faithful rendition, as you can hear in the video below, which splices together concert footage of both bands. The Magic (featuring all originals) hits stores this Friday via Polyvinyl. [Consequence of Sound]

This entry was posted in KEXP, Music News and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories