In Stores Now 9/12

Fall is kicking off with some heavy hitters. KEXP Music Director Don Yates calls the latest from Wilco, “one of their more modest-sounding releases, featuring a mostly low-key and acoustic-oriented folk-rock sound on bittersweet songs revolving around alienation and childhood memories.”

M.I.A. finally releases her fifth, and possibly last album, as she’s been claiming on social media. Yates calls it “an inconsistent but often-gripping set combining a variety of beats and Eastern textures and melodies with politically charged lyrics often revolving around the plight of refugees.” The tenth studio album from veteran Scottish band Teenage Fanclub is “a typically well-crafted set of melodic guitar-pop with a warm, inviting sound featuring strummed acoustic and jangly electric guitars, gentle harmonies and bittersweet melodies.” Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds return with their sixteenth album (and sadly, their first since the tragic passing of Cave’s 15-year-old son Arthur in July 2015). Not surprisingly, it’s “a powerful set of dark, mournful ballads combining a brooding, spare sound with Cave’s wounded vocals and emotionally raw lyrics reflecting upon death and loss.”

Seattle band The Head & the Heart share their third full-length, “a more polished and heavily produced sound for their anthemic folk-pop.” And Jack White shares a collection of 26 acoustic songs from throughout his career, including album tracks, B-sides, remixes, alternate versions, and previously unreleased tracks.

Adam Torres – “High Lonesome”
from Pearls to Swine on Fat Possum

Allah-Las – “Could Be You”
from Calico Review on Mexican Summer

The Beatles – “Twist and Shout”
from Live at the Hollywood Bowl on Apple Corps / Capitol

clipping. – “Air ‘Em Out”
from Splendor & Misery on Sub Pop

The Connells – “Stone Cold Yesterday”
from Stone Cold Yesterday: The Best of the Connells on Bicycle Music Company

Daniel Lanois – “Heavy Sun (feat. Rocco DeLuca)”
from Goodbye to Language on Anti- / Red Floor Records

Dave Hollister – “Shortage”
from The MANuscript on Shanachie Records

Dennis Callaci – “S.O.S.”
from A Bed of Light on Shrimper Records

Drugdealer – “Suddenly (ft. Weyes Blood)”
from The End of Comedy on Weird World

Emmylou Harris / Dolly Parton / Linda Ronstadt / Trio – “The Sweetest Gift”
from The Complete Trio Collection on GC / Rhino

Gaby Moreno – “Guatemorfosis”
from IlusiĆ³n on SME U.S. Latin

Grouplove – “Do You Love Someone”
from Big Mess on Atlantic / Canvasback

The Head and the Heart – “All We Ever Knew”
from Signs of Light on Parlophone

Ian Sweet – “#23″
from Shapeshifter on Hardly Art

Ice Choir – “Unprepared”
from Designs in Rhythm on Shelflife

Jack White – “City Lights”
from Acoustic Recordings 1998-2016 on Sony Music

Jason Aldean – “A Little More Summertime”
from They Don’t Know on Broken Bow

KT Tunstall – “Maybe It’s A Good Thing”
from KIN on Virgin EMI

Local Natives – “Past Lives”
from Sunlit Youth on Loma Vista Recordings

Low Culture – “Head In A Blender”
from Places to Hide on Dirtnap Records

Lucy Dacus – “I Don’t Wanna be Funny Anymore”
from No Burden on Matador

Macy Gray
from Stripped on Chesky

M.I.A. – “Freedun ft. ZAYN”
from AIM on Interscope/Polydor

The Monochrome Set – “Stick Your Hand Up If You Re Louche”
from Cosmonaut on Tapete Records

Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds – “Jesus Alone”
from Skeleton Tree on Bad Seed Ltd

Nots – “Entertain Me”
from Cosmetic on Heavenly/Goner

Of Mice & Men – “The Lie”
from Cold World on Rise Records

Okkervil River – “The Industry”
from Away on ATO

Prefuse 73/Michael Christmas – “In My Shoes feat. Alex Mali”
from Lady Parts on Lex

Psychic Twin – “Hopeless”
from Strange Diary on Polyvinyl

Ramones – “Let’s Dance”
from Ramones [40th Anniversary Edition] on Rhino

Sneaks – “True Killer”
from Gymnastics on Merge

Teenage Fanclub – “Thin Air”
from Here on Merge

The Time Jumpers – “Kid Sister”
from Kid Sister on New Rounder

Twin Atlantic – “No Sleep”
from GLA on Red Bull

The Tyde – “The Curse In Reverse”
from Darren 4 on Spiritual Pajamas

Wilco – “Someone to Lose”
from Schmilco on Anti-

ZZ Top – “Rough Boy feat. Jeff Beck (Live from London)”
from Live: Greatest Hits from Around the World on Suretone

This entry was posted in In Stores Now, KEXP and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories