In Stores Now 10/24

Last week, we got the seventh solo album from Conor Oberst. This week, we’ve got a box set from his old project, Bright Eyes. You get six remastered, reissued vinyl copies of Fevers and Mirrors (2000), LIFTED or The Story Is in the Soil, Keep Your Ear to the Ground (2002), I’m Wide Awake, It’s Morning (2005), Digital Ash in a Digital Urn (2005), Cassadaga (2007), and a bonus, The People’s Key (2011). Oberst fans will have plenty to listen to this fall.

Other highlights this week include the long-awaited LP from Swedish duo The Radio Dept., their first in six years. KEXP Music Director Don Yates describes it as a “potent set of brooding, politically charged electro-pop with moody synths, atmospheric guitars, gently propulsive rhythms, gauzy vocals, wistful melodies and barbed lyrics attacking racism, police brutality and the thriving Swedish gun industry.” If you think six years is a long time, we’ve also got a new album from American Football, their first in seventeen years. A project of Illinois-bred Mike Kinsilla (Cap’n Jazz, Owls, Joan Of Arc, Owen, etc.), the LP is “a fine set of moody, emotive rock with dreamy interlocking guitar lines, occasional electric piano and trumpet, intricate rhythms and melancholy lyrics.”

Making their debut is Savoy Motel, featuring members of Cheap Time and Heavy Cream. Yates calls the album, “a potent blend of ’70s boogie-rock, slinky glam and gritty funk-rock with distorted wah wah guitars and falsetto vocals.” The Weakerthans frontman John K. Samson shares his third solo album, “a fine set of mostly dark folk-rock combining a spare sound with smartly crafted lyrics revolving around community, his native Winnipeg and addictions both personal and societal.” And, finally, this week sees the release of the fourteenth studio album by Canadian singer-songwriter Leonard Cohen, a meditation on life and death.

Agnes Obel – “Grasshopper”
from Citizen of Glass on PIAS

American Football – “Desire Gets in the Way”
from American Football on Polyvinyl

Bette Midler – “Friends”
from The Divine Miss M reissue on Atlantic / Rhino

The Blind Shake – “Broken Racehorse”
from Celebrate Your Worth on Goner Records

Bright Eyes – “At the Bottom of Everything”
from The Studio Albums 2000-2011 on Loud-N-Proud Records / Saddle Creek Records

The Courteeners – “No One Will Ever Replace Us”
from Mapping the Rendezvous on Ignition

Crocodiles – “Telepathic Lover”
from Dreamless on Zoo Music

David Crosby – “Things We Do For Love”
from Lighthouse on Groundup Music / Verve

Dr. John
from The Musical Mojo of Dr. John: Celebrating Mac & His Music on Concord

Dusky – “Runny Nose”
from Outer on Polydor

Frankie Valli – “The Christmas Song”
from ‘Tis the Seasons on Rhino

Hooton Tennis Club – “Katy-Anne Bellis”
from Big Box of Chocolates on Heavenly

Jacuzzi Boys – “Boys Like Blood”
from Ping Pong on Mag Mag

Jane’s Addiction – “Up the Beach”
from Sterling Spoon box set on Rhino

Jimmy Eat World – “Let It Happen”
from Integrity Blues on Dine Alone

Joan As Police Woman & Benjamin Lazar Davis – “Magic Lamp”
from Let It Be You on Reveal

John K. Samson – “Postdoc Blues”
from Winter Wheat on Anti

Jubilee – “Spring Break”
from After Hours on Mixpak

Kadhja Bonet – “Honeycomb”
from The Visitor on Fat Possum

Kelly Lee Owens – “CBM”
from Oleic on Smalltown Supersound

Korn – “Insane (Chopped & Screwed)”
from The Serenity of Suffering on Roadrunner Records / WEA

Lady Gaga – “A-YO”
from Joanne on Interscope / Polydor

Leonard Cohen – “You Want It Darker”
from You Want It Darker on Columbia / Sony Music

Michael Bublé – “Nobody But Me”
from Nobody But Me on Reprise / Warner Bros.

Nico Muhly / Teitur – “Describe You”
from Confessions on Nonesuch

NxWorries (w/ Anderson Paak & Knxwledge) – “Get Bigger”
from Yes Lawd! on Stones Throw

The Pattern Forms – “Man And Machine”
from Peel Away the Ivy on Ghost Box

Piers Faccini – “Cloak Of Blue”
from I Dreamed an Island on Beating Drum / Six Degrees

Planes Mistaken For Stars – “Fucking Tenderness”
from Prey on Deathwish

Pretenders – “Holy Commotion”
from Alone on BMG

The Pretty Reckless – “Take Me Down”
from Who You Selling For on Razor & Tie / Virgin EMI

The Radio Dept. – “We Got Game”
from Running Out of Love on Labrador

Roy Montgomery – “If and Only If”
from R M H Q: Headquarters on Grapefruit

Saint Motel – “Move”
from Saintmotelevision on Atlantic / Elektra

Sarah McLachlan – “Winter Wonderland”
from Wonderland on Verve

Savoy Motel – “Sorry People”
from Savoy Motel on What’s Yr Rupture?

St. Lenox – “Conspiracy Theories”
from Ten Hymns from My American Gothic on Anyway

Sun Angle – “Drink the Moon”
from Skullflower on XRAY

Syd Arthur – “Apricity”
from Apricity on Harvest

Tanya Tagaq – “Centre”
from Retribution on Six Shooter

Tim Buckley – “Lady, Give Me Your Key”
from Lady, Give Me Your Key: The Unissued 1967 Solo Acoustic Sessions on Future Days / Light in the Attic

Tom Chaplin – “Hardened Heart”
from The Wave on Island

Weyes Blood – “Generation Why”
from Front Row Seat to Earth on Mexican Summer

Wovenwar – “Censorship”
from Honor Is Dead on Metal Blade

This entry was posted in In Stores Now, KEXP and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories