Tuesday Music News

photo by Dave Lichterman

photo by Dave Lichterman (view set)

  • In a belated Christmas present for electronic music fans everywhere, record label Dymaxion Groove are releasing a double-LP concept album, fantastically-titled I Said No Doctors!, that spotlights the use of unconventional instruments. The collection features tracks from Silver Apples, Oval, Jad Fair, and Dan Deacon, whose submission you can stream below. According to a press release, the track “Opal Toad Segment” was created using “an atonal barrage of MIDI-triggered pin-point notes from an acoustic grand piano.” Neat! I Said No Doctors! is out January 18th. [Consequence of Sound]

  • Hot on the heels of an amazing New Year’s Eve show, Sleater-Kinney have announced their first-ever live album. (About time, amiright?) Live in Paris was recorded at La Cigale back in March 20th, 2015, and will be out via Sub Pop on January 27th. Get a taste with a live version of “Surface Envy” below, accompanied by fan shot clips from various shows. [Under the Radar]

  • If one of your New Year’s resolutions is to be more mindful and combat stress, Brian Eno has an album for you! The appropriately-titled Reflection is a 54-minute single long track, filled with serene electronics and soothing string tones. On his website, he says the title, “makes [him] think back. It makes me think things over. It seems to create a psychological space that encourages internal conversation. And external ones actually — people seem to enjoy it as the background to their conversations.” Listen below. Reflection is out now via Warp. [Stereogum]

  • Yes, I know she’s a fictional, animated character, but damn, Noodle from Gorillaz has great taste in music. Over the holiday break, the band’s “lead guitarist” (sometimes voiced by Miho Hatori of Cibo Matto) shared the playlist below, writing on Twitter: “In search of new sounds and new inspiration, I found these kick-ass women who in their own individual ways are true pioneers in the writing, production and creation of MUSIC. They have inspired me, and I hope they inspire you too.” The 12-track compilation includes tracks from Grimes, Laurie Anderson, Mica Levi, Empress Of, and more. As for Noodle, a new Gorillaz album should be completed later this year. [Consequence of Sound]

This entry was posted in KEXP, Music News and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories