In Stores Now 1/30

January ends on a bang as many long-awaited albums hit stores this past Friday. Cleveland’s Cloud Nothings return with their fourth LP, which KEXP Music Director Don Yates calls, “their most polished and measured set to date of punkish power-pop. Produced by John Goodmanson, the album combines a dynamic, full rock-band sound with emotive lyrics and bright pop hooks.” They’ll be LIVE on KEXP on Friday, February 17th at 1:00 PM PT, and KEXP presents them two nights at The Crocodile, Friday, February 17th and Saturday, February 18th.

Prolific L.A.-based artist Ty Segall shares his ninth LP, produced by legendary record producer/engineer Steve Albini. The self-titled album is his first solo release with a full band (in this case, Emmett Kelly, Mikal Cronin, Charlie Moothart and Ben Boye). “Together with Albini, they provide a loud, muscular sound on a diverse assortment of first-rate songs ranging from anthemic garage-rock and expansive prog to sludgy psych-rock and acoustic-oriented psych-pop.” (Hear the new songs live in person at Neumos on Thursday, March 2nd.)

Allison Crutchfield is a musical veteran, as a member of Philly-based band Swearin’ and previous projects P.S. Eliot and Bad Banana with her twin sister Katie of Waxahatchee, but this week, we’ve got her solo debut, “an impressive set that veers from spare, intimate folk-pop to anthemic, synth-driven indie-rock on sharply crafted songs with emotive lyrics of life in transition.” On their third album, Vancouver, BC duo Japandroids bring a “more expansive take on the band’s anthemic, life-affirming garage-pop, ranging from classic Japandroids heart-pumping sing-alongs to more measured but still effective fare featuring prominent synths and acoustic guitars.” Buffalo-bred, NYC-based artist Julie Byrne returns with her second album, “an entrancing set of atmospheric folk with a spare, dreamy sound featuring finger-picked guitar and occasional keyboards and strings accompanying her breathy vocals, wistful melodies and evocative lyrics revolving around love and nature.” And Glasgow/London duo Sacred Paws make their debut with “an excellent set of Afropop-influenced post-punk with buoyant guitar lines, percolating rhythms, occasional horns and synths, sweet harmonies, bittersweet lyrics and sunny melodies.”

Allison Crutchfield – “I Don’t Ever Wanna Leave California”
from Tourist in This Town on Merge

Ariel Pink / Weyes Blood – “Tears on Fire”
from Myths 002 on Mexican Summer

BBQ / Mark Sultan – “Agitated”
from BBQ / Mark Sultan on In the Red Records

Bell Biv DeVoe – “I’m Betta”
from Three Stripes on eOne

Bert Jansch – “Carnival”
from Living in the Shadows on Earth Recordings

Brantley Gilbert – “The Devil Don’t Sleep”
from The Devil Don’t Sleep on The Valory Music Co.

Cloud Nothings – “Modern Act”
from Life Without Sound on Carpark Records

Deaf Havana – “Fever”
from All These Countless Nights on SO Recordings

Delbert McClinton / Self-Made Men – “Like Lovin’ Used to Be”
from Prick of the Litter on Hot Shot Records

Denzel Curry – “Narcotics”
from Imperial on Loma Vista Recordings

Egyptrixx – “We Can Be Concrete”
from Pure, Beyond Reproach on Halocline Trance

Emptyset – “Speak”
from Borders on Thrill Jockey

Fancey – “Dream All Night”
from Love Mirage on Stoner Disco

Fred Thomas – “Mallwalkers”
from Changer on Polyvinyl

Gabriel Garzón-Montano – “Crawl”
from Jardín on Stones Throw

Horse Thief – “Another Youth”
from Trials & Truths on Bella Union

Japandroids – “North East South West”
from Near to the Wild Heart of Life on Anti-

Julie Byrne – “Natural Blue”
from Not Even Happiness on Ba Da Bing Records

Kreator – “Earth Under The Sword”
from Gods of Violence on Nuclear Blast

Lauren Alaina – “Road Less Traveled”
from Road Less Traveled on Mercury Nashville

Marillion – “Marbles in the Park”
from Marbles in the Park on Ear Music / Racket Records (New Age)

Mark Eitzel – “An Answer”
from Hey Mr. Ferryman on Merge

Matthew Shipp – “Flying Carpet”
from Piano Song on Thirsty Ear

Menace Beach – “Maybe We’ll Drown”
from Lemon Memory on Memphis Industries

Once & Future Band – “How Does It Make You Feel?”
from Once & Future Band on Castle Face

Oto Hiax – “Creeks”
from Oto Hiax on Editions Mego

P.O.S – “Lanes”
from Chill, dummy on Doomtree Records

Priests – “Nothing Feels Natural”
from Nothing Feels Natural on Sister Polygon Records

Rose Elinor Dougall – “Stellular”
from Stellular on Vermillion Records

Sacred Paws – “Rest”
from Strike a Match on Rock Action

Stef Chura – “You”
from Messes on Urinal Cake

Theo Bleckmann – “Elegy”
from Elegy on ECM

Tift Merritt – “Dusty Old Man”
from Stitch of the World on Yep Roc

Tobin Sprout – “When I Was A Boy”
from The Universe and Me on Burger Records

Train – “Play That Song”
from a girl a bottle a boat on Columbia

Twiztid – “Kill Somebody”
from The Continuous Evilution of Life’s ?’s on Majik Ninja

Ty Segall – “Break A Guitar”
from Ty Segall on Drag City

This entry was posted in In Stores Now, KEXP and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

One Comment

  1. Jp
    Posted January 30, 2017 at 11:34 pm | Permalink

    The cloud nothings are at barboza, I believe.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories