In Stores Now 2/27

It may be the shortest month, but February has had no shortage of great new releases. Highlights this week include the latest from Dirty Projectors. KEXP Music Director Don Yates notes, “the eighth album from the now LA-based solo project of band leader David Longstreth is a powerful set of avant electro-pop inflected with R&B and hip hop, combining a glitchy, intricately arranged sound with pitch-shifted vocals and intensely personal lyrics revolving around his breakup with former bandmate Amber Coffman.”

Other notable LPs include the latest from Welsh band Los Campesinos!, whose “sixth album is another excellent set of anthemic indie-pop ranging from boisterous, punkish rockers to poignant folk, with consistently strong songs juxtaposing soaring melodies and exuberant sing-along choruses with often-wry, anxiety-fueled lyrics.” LA-based producer/bassist/vocalist Stephen Bruner — aka Thundercat — delivers “an adventurous, often-playful blend of spacy R&B ballads, slinky funk jams, woozy hip hop, cosmic jazz, psych-tinged pop and more.”

On their 11th studio album, veteran Dallas band Old 97’s deliver “another excellent set of sharply crafted roots-rock ranging from anthemic, locomotive rockers and driving power pop to rousing country-rock and moody, atmospheric ballads.” The debut album from Vagabon (aka Cameroon-born, New York-based producer/multi-instrumentalist/vocalist Laetitia Tamko) is “an often-stunning set of diverse indie-rock ranging from emotive rockers to haunting dream-pop and stark indie-folk, highlighted by her powerful vocals and intimate lyrics.” And the second solo album from Rhiannon Giddens (founding member of Carolina Chocolate Drops) is “a potent, mostly acoustic-oriented blend of folk, blues, soul, gospel, hip hop, Dixieland jazz and other styles, with often-poignant songs reflecting various eras of the African-American experience, from slavery to the civil rights era to our troubled modern times.”

Acceptance – “Diagram Of A Simple Man”
from Colliding by Design on Rise Records

Alasdair Roberts – “The Downward Road”
from Pangs on Drag City

from Hopes of Failure on Thrill Jockey

Barbara Kortmann – “Flute Sonata in G Minor, H. 524.5 (Attrib. J.S. Bach as BWV 1020) : I. Allegro”
from Inner Lights on Genuin

Born of Osiris – “Abstract Art”
from The Eternal Reign on Sumerian Records

The Brian Jonestown Massacre – “Fact 67″
from Don’t Get Lost on A Recordings

Brokeback – “Cairo Levee”
from Illinois River Valley Blues on Thrill Jockey

Crystal Fairy – “Drugs on the Bus”
from Crystal Fairy on Ipecac

Dirty Projectors – “Cool Your Heart feat. D∆WN “
from Dirty Projectors on Domino

The Feelies – “Been Replaced”
from In Between on Bar/None Records

José James – “Always There”
from Love in a Time of Madness on Blue Note

Karriem Riggins – “4Es’J & Oddness”
from Headnod Suite on Stones Throw

King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard – “Nuclear Fusion”
from Flying Microtonal Banana on ATO

Kingdom – “Tears in the Club”
from Tears in the Club on Fade to Mind

The Koreatown Oddity – “Fuck Dinosaurs”
from Finna Be Past Tense on Stones Throw

Little Big Town – “Happy People”
from The Breaker on Capitol / Decca

Los Campesinos! – “I Broke Up In Amarante”
from Sick Scenes on Wichita

NE-HI – “Sisters”
from Offers on Grand Jury

Old 97’s – “Good With God”
from Graveyard Whistling on ATO

Pissed Jeans – “The Bar Is Low”
from Why Love Now on Sub Pop

Rhiannon Giddens – “At The Purchaser’s Option”
from Freedom Highway on Nonesuch

Sarah Bethe Nelson – “Evolution”
from Oh, Evolution on Burger Records

Scott H. Biram – “Long Old Time”
from The Bad Testament on Bloodshot

Shadow Band – “Daylight”
from Wilderness of Love on Mexican Summer

Sherwood & Pinch – “Itchy Face”
from Man vs. Sofa on On U Sounds

Six Organs of Admittance – “Taken By Ascent”
from Burning the Threshold on Drag City

Sun Kil Moon – “I Love Portugal”
from Common as Light and Love Are Red Valleys of Blood on Caldo Verde Records

Sundays & Cybele – “Tell Me the Name of That Flower”
from Chaos & Systems on Beyond Beyond Is Beyond

Thundercat – “Show You The Way (feat. Michael McDonald & Kenny Loggins)”
from Drunk on Brainfeeder

Vagabon – “Minneapolis”
from Infinite Worlds on Father/Daughter Records

Wesley Stace – “Let’s Evaporate”
from Wesley Stace’s John Wesley Harding on Yep Roc

This entry was posted in In Stores Now, KEXP and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories