In Stores Now 3/6

They say great art can come from sadness, and that seems to be true for the new album from Grandaddy. KEXP Music Director Don Yates notes, “the fifth album (and first in 11 years) from this reunited Modesto, CA-bred band led by Jason Lytle is an impressive return to form featuring consistently strong songs of psych-tinged space-pop with fuzzy, chugging guitars, sparkling synths, wistful vocals, airy harmonies, melancholy melodies and lyrics revolving around the breakup of Lytle’s marriage.”

West coast project WHY? also re-emerge; the “sixth album (and first in five years) from Yoni Wolf & co. is a solid set of quirky art-pop incorporating elements of folk, psych-pop, hip hop and other styles.” The latest from Seattle band Minus the Bear “ranges from moody dance-pop and nervy math-rock to majestic prog.” (And you can hear the new songs LIVE on KEXP Tuesday, March 7th, broadcasting worldwide from the KEXP Gathering Space!) And another local artist, electronic producer Lusine (aka Jeff McIlwain) returns with his fourth album “a fine set of buoyant electronic grooves with a few songs featuring guest vocalists.”

Other highlights this week include the third LP from L.A.’s Chicano Batman, “a vibrant blend of soul, funk, psych-rock and Brazilian tropicalia, combining a variety of sunny grooves with sometimes politically charged lyrics.” And the sophomore release from Ibibio Sound Machine “led by London-born, Nigerian vocalist Eno Williams is a spirited, rhythm-driven blend of West African funk, highlife, disco and post-punk.”

Béla Fleck
from Juno Concerto on Rounder

Bombadil – “Not Those Kind of People”
from Fences on Ramseur Records

Chicano Batman – “Freedom Is Free”
from Freedom Is Free on ATO

Colin Hay – “A Thousand Million Reasons”
from Fierce Mercy on Compass

Danko Jones – “My Little RnR”
from Wild Cat on AFM Records

Dia Frampton – “Crave”
from Bruises on Nettwerk

Emmure – “Flag Of The Beast”
from Look at Yourself on Nuclear Blast / Relativity Entertainment / Sharptone

Gabriella Cohen – “Downtown”
from Full Closure and No Details on Captured Tracks

Grandaddy – “Way We Won’t”
from Last Place on 30th Century Records / Columbia / Sony Music

Holly Macve – “Heartbreak Blues”
from Golden Eagle on Bella Union

Ibibio Sound Machine – “Give Me a Reason”
from Uyai on Merge

Johnossi – “War / Rain”
from Blood Jungle on Caroline

Kneebody – “Uprising”
from Anti-Hero on Motéma Music

Lusine – “Slow Motion”
from Sensorimotor on Ghostly International

Methyl Ethel – “L’Heure des Sorcières”
from Everything Is Forgotten on 4AD

Minus the Bear – “Last Kiss”
from Voids on Suicide Squeeze

Sondre Lerche – “Soft Feelings”
from Pleasure on PLZ

Talaboman – “Safe Changes”
from The Night Land on R&S

Tim Kasher – “An Answer For Everything”
from No Resolution on 15 Passenger

Why? – “This Ole King”
from Moh Lhean on Joyful Noise

This entry was posted in In Stores Now, KEXP and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories