In Stores Now 6/5

Earlier this year, we got a sneak peek at the new alt-J album as the UK trio stopped by KEXP for an in-studio session. Now, the entire LP is out — a release KEXP Music Director Don Yates calls, “their most adventurous, ranging from catchy prog-pop and solemn atmospheric folk ballads to decidedly odder fare.” On his second solo album, Black Keys frontman Dan Auerbach is “stepping away from blues-based rock for a well-crafted, ’70s-steeped blend of amiable folk-rock, breezy soul, hooky power-pop, sun-kissed glam and more.” Seattle’s own Chastity Belt return with “another impressive set of brooding post-punk with dreamy, ringing guitars, wistful melodies and personal, sometime angst-fueled lyrics.”

Brooklyn-based band Beach Fossils share their third LP, “a more sophisticated sound for the band’s shimmering dream-pop, combining a rich variety of instrumentation including lush strings, piano, harpsichord, flute and sax along with the band’s trademark jangly guitars with gentle, airy vocals and wistful melodies.” On her debut solo release, Amber Coffman, formerly of Dirty Projectors, shares “a fine set of eclectic pop ranging from sunny Motown pop, robo-soul and dancehall-inflected pop to gently swinging pop-rock and pillowy R&B ballads, combining a warm, often-sunny sound with her airy vocals and lyrics dealing with independence and solitude.” And LA-via-New Orleans artist Benjamin Booker shares a “more sophisticated and richly textured take on his gritty blend of rootsy garage and folk-rock with soul and gospel.”

alt-J – “Adeline”
from Relaxer on Atlantic

Amber Arcades – “Can’t Say That We Tried”
from Cannonball on Heavenly

Amber Coffman – “No Coffee”
from City of No Reply on Columbia / Sony Music

Beach Fossils – “Social Jetlag”
from Somersault on Bayonet Records

Benjamin Booker – “Right on You”
from Witness on ATO

Bleachers – “Dream Of Mickey Mantle”
from Gone Now on RCA

Chastity Belt – “Used to Spend”
from I Used to Spend So Much Time Alone on Hardly Art

Chuck Johnson – “Riga Black”
from Balsams on VDSQ

Cody ChesnuTT – “Bullets in the Street and Blood (feat. Raphael Saadiq)”
from My Love Divine Degree on Hyperdub

Dan Auerbach – “King of a One Horse Town”
from Waiting on a Song on Nonesuch

Darren Hayman – “Upper Slaughter”
from Thankful Villages, Vol. 2 on Rivertones

Death and Vanilla – “Vampyr Pt IV”
from Vampyr on Fire Records

Dua Lipa – “Lost In Your Light feat. Miguel”
from Dua Lipa on Warner Bros.

Ikonika – “Manual Decapitation”
from Distractions on Hyperdub

Marika Hackman – “Boyfriend”
from I’m Not Your Man on Sub Pop

North Mississippi Allstars – “Prayer for Peace “
from Prayer for Peace on Sony Legacy

Omar Souleyman – “Ya Boul Habari”
from To Syria with Love on Mad Decent

Pixx – “Romance”
from The Age of Anxiety on 4AD

Richard Dawson – “Ogre”
from Peasant on Weird World

Roger Waters – “The Most Beautiful Girl”
from Is This the Life We Really Want? on Columbia / Sony Music

Saint Etienne – “Popmaster”
from Home Counties on Heavenly

Sweet Baboo – “Wild Imagination”
from Wild Imagination on Moshi Moshi

TOPS – “Petals”
from Sugar at the Gate on Arbutus Records

from The Joshua Tree [30th Anniversary Deluxe Edition] on Island

Ulrika Spacek – “Protestant Work Slump”
from Modern English Decoration on Tough Love Records

This entry was posted in In Stores Now, KEXP and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories