Friday Music News

photo by Matthew B. Thompson (view set)

  • English indie band The xx  released the deluxe edition of their third studio album I See You today which includes three bonus tracks. One of them, “Naive” samples Drake’s “Doing It Wrong,” while “Brave For You (Marfa Demo)” is a stripped down acoustic recording of their track “Brave For You.” They also released an official music video for “Brave For You (Marfa Demo)” that shows Romy, Oliver, and Jamie in home video footage being very sweet to each other while walking down an abandoned road. [ Consequence of Sound ]

  • Psych rock band Foxygen have covered Jessica Pratt‘s “On Your Own Love Again” for Amazon’s Songs of Summer playlist.  We previously shared Twin Peaks contribution to the playlist with “Who It’s Gonna Be.” Foxygen had this to say about their Jessica Pratt cover in a press release: “While her version is acoustic, we decided to employ Phil Spector’s Wall of Sound technique to make the song sound great coming out of the speakers at your next summer barbeque.” Foxygen’s latest album Hang was released back in January. The band will be playing at Marymoor Park with The Shins and Day Wave on Saturday, September 23rd. [ Under the Radar ]

  • Brooklyn indie band Grizzly Bear have shared a new song called “Four Cypresses” off their forthcoming album Painted Ruins. Grizzly Bear’s Daniel Rossen explained in a recent interview with Pitchfork that he wrote the song from the “perspective of a homeless person sleeping in the driveway of a place he was staying in L.A., but broadened to encompass his thoughts about the refugee experience and life during wartime.” Painted Ruins arrives August 18 via RCA and the band arrives in Seattle on Friday, December 8th at the Moore. [ Pitchfork ]

  • Queens of the Stone Age premiered a new track off of their highly anticipated upcoming album Villains at a show near Niagara Falls last night, their first show in almost two years. The song is called “The Evil Has Landed” and follows their first single “The Way You Used to Do.” Superstar producer Mark Ronson worked with QOTSA on Villains, which will be released August 25 via Matador. [ Spin ]

  • Vampire Weekend bassist Chris Baio has been building anticipation for the release of his sophomore album Man Of The World by releasing tracks “PHILOSOPHY!” and “DANGEROUE ANAMAL” and today he’s released a third track called “Out Of Tune.” It’s an upbeat, sunny song perfect for summer. Man Of The World follows his 2015 debut The Names and will be released June 30 via Glassnote. [ Stereogum ]
This entry was posted in KEXP, Music News and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories