In Stores Now 7/10


Has your new summer jam hit the racks? This week, we see new releases from Toronto-collective Broken Social Scene. KEXP Music Director Don Yates notes the group’s fifth album (and first in seven years) is “an often-buoyant set of maximalist, psych-tinged pop-rock with a lush, densely produced sound featuring soaring harmonies, exuberant melodies and lyrics celebrating community in the face of technology-abetted narcissism and the current toxic political environment.”

Peter Perrett, the former frontman for The Only Ones, shares his debut solo album and first new music in decades. (Check out an exclusive interview with Perrett on the KEXP Blog here.) “He sounds remarkably together here, joined by his sons (who are also in the band Strangefruit) for a diverse set ranging from hypnotic, psych-tinged rock to surging power pop on songs of survival pairing his offhand vocals with often-sardonic lyrics.”

Seattle band Great Grandpa launch their debut, “a promising set of emotive, ’90s-steeped rock with a dynamic sound featuring grungy guitars, soaring vocals and catchy pop hooks.” Another local fave, Pickwick, release their second full-length, “an impressive blend of moody soul-pop, gritty psych-funk and eerie psychedelic soul ballads.” The third LP from UK trio Public Service Broadcasting “chronicles the rise and fall of the Welsh coal-mining industry and the decline of working-class communities, with a cinematic post-rock sound featuring atmospheric guitars and synths, lush strings, samples from vintage public information films, broadcasts and other sources, occasional guest vocals and surging melodies.” This Is The Kit — a project led by Paris-based British artist Kate Stables — shares their fourth LP, “a strong set of expansive folk-pop incorporating elements of rock, jazz, various African styles and more. Produced by John Parish, the album combines inventive arrangements and a rich variety of instrumentation with her warm, serene vocals and evocative, sharply crafted lyrics.”

Breakfast Muff – “Feast”
from Eurgh! on Amour Foo

Broken Social Scene – “Stay Happy”
from Hug of Thunder on Arts & Crafts

Chris Bell
from Looking Forward: The Roots of Big Star on Omnivore

Great Grandpa – “Expert Eraser”
from Plastic Cough on Double Double Whammy

HAIM – “Something To Tell You”
from Something To Tell You on Sony

J. Bernardt – “Wicked Streets”
from Running Days on Play It Again Sam

Jay-Z – “The Story of O.J.”
from 4:44 on Roc Nation

k.d. lang – “Constant Craving (MTV Unplugged)”
from Ingénue [25th Anniversary Edition] on Nonesuch

Laura Nyro – “Goodbye Joe”
from A Little Magic, a Little Kindness: The Complete Mono Albums Collection on Real Gone Music

Little Barrie – “Love or Love”
from Death Express on Non-Delux

Lucy Rose – “Something’s Changing”
from Something’s Changing on Communion Music

Melvins – “Aim High (Love)”
from A Walk with Love & Death on Ipecac

M.O.D. (Method Of Destruction)
from Busted, Broke & American on Megaforce Records

Offa Rex – “Sheepcrook and Black Dog”
from The Queen of Hearts on Nonesuch

Peter Perrett – “How The West Was Won”
from How The West Was Won on Domino

Pickwick – “Turncoat”
from LoveJoys on Small Press Records

Prins Thomas / Bjørn Torske – “Arthur”
from Square One on Smalltown Supersound

Public Service Broadcasting – “They Gave Me A Lamp”
from Every Valley on PIAS

Randall Bramblett – “Garbage Man”
from Juke Joint at the Edge of the World on New West

Riverdogs – “American Dream”
from California on Frontiers Music

Sarah Jaffe – “Bad Baby”
from Bad Baby on Kirtland Records

Star Tropics – “Lost World”
from Lost World on Shelflife

STRFKR – “Happy Summertime”
from Vault, Vol. 2 on Polyvinyl

Saint Etienne – “Sun In My Morning”
from Tales From The Turnpike House (Expanded) on Saint Etienne Limited

This Is the Kit – “Moonshine Freeze”
from Moonshine Freeze on Rough Trade

Toro y Moi – “W.I.W.W.T.W.”
from Boo Boo on Carpark Records

Tristen – “Glass Jar (feat. Jenny Lewis)”
from Sneaker Waves on Modern Outsider Records

Twista – “Baddest (Official Video) ft. Cap1″
from Crook County on GMG Entertainment / EMPIRE

Ulrich Schnauss – “A Song About Hope”
from No Further Ahead Than Today on Scripted Realities

Violent Femmes – “I’m Nothing – 10/4/2016 – Paste Studios, New York, NY”
from Two Mics & The Truth: Unplugged & Unhinged In America on PIAS

Whitehorse – “Nighthawks”
from Panther In The Doghouse on Six Shooter Records

This entry was posted in In Stores Now, KEXP and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories