Thursday Music News

photo by Anton Corbijn

photo by Anton Corbijn

  • Arcade Fire released a brand new single called “Electric Blue” this morning off their forthcoming highly anticipated (and highly promoted) new album Everything Now and then minutes later revealed a video for the single. Directed by Cousin Club, the video focuses on AF’s Régine Chassagne strutting through the streets of New Orleans at the end of an eventful Mardi Gras celebration. Everything Now will be out July 28 on Columbia. Arcade Fire will be in Seattle on Sunday, October 15 at the Key Arena. [ Rolling Stone ]

  • Nine Inch Nails’ last release, Not The Actual Events EP, was released with the explanation that it was the first in a series of three EPs, we now have the name of the second and a single from it. Called ADD VIOLENCE, the EP will be out on July 21 and the first single from it is called “Less Than.” Being quite the generous guy, Trent Reznor also gave us a video for “Less Than” which portrays a woman playing a video game, matching the ’80s video game synths in the song. [ Spin ]

  • Tomorrow, Shabazz Palaces are releasing not one, but two, albums — Quazarz: Born On A Gangster Star and Quazarz Vs. The Jealous Machines and today they’ve shared a video for “Welcome To Quazarz,” the introductory track to Quazarz vs. The Jealous Machines. The video was directed by Nep Sidhu and makes for a perfect introduction to the world they’ve created within both Quazarz albums. Don’t miss Shabazz Palaces today, July 13 for their record release in-store performance at East Street Records. [ Stereogum ]

  • Today’s a big day for Feist. Not only did her new album Pleasure make the 2017 Polaris Music Prize Short List but she also premiered the new video for her track “Century” featuring Pulp’s Jarvis Cocker. Directed by Scott Cudmore, Feist engages in an intense dance battle against her dopplegänger underneath a freeway. Jarvis Cocker also makes an appearance for his verse. Other artists who made the Polaris Short List this year include A Tribe Called Red, BADBADNOTGOOD, Leonard Cohen, Gord Downie, Lisa Leblanc. Lido Pimienta, Tanya Tagaq, Leif Vollebekk, and Weaves.  [ Pitchfork ]

  • Alvvays have a new video out today for their recently released single “In Undertow” off their forthcoming sophomore album Antisocialites. Directed by Joe Garrity, the trippy video prominently features singer Molly Rankin, who describes the video as “aquacosmic psych meets public access TV” and goes on to say, “I’m aware of my own drowning fixation and fascinated by that bizarre lunar-tidal relationship. We’ve already filled our water video quota. Space is a trippier ocean.” Alvvays will play the Showbox on Saturday, October 28 with Jay Som. [ Consequence of Sound ]

This entry was posted in KEXP, Music News and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories