Tuesday Music News

photo by Renata Steiner (view set)

  • The War On Drugs are following up 2014’s critically acclaimed album Lost In The Dream this fall with A Deeper Understanding and today we have another single off the record, “Strangest Thing.” The epic atmospheric song comes with a 8mm visual directed by Shawn Brackbill. A Deeper Understanding will be out August 25 via Atlantic. The War On Drugs will play two nights at The Moore Theatre on Monday, October 9 and Tuesday, October 10. [ Pitchfork ]

  • San Francisco’s Deerhoof has released the second single off their forthcoming album Mountain Moves. Called “Your Dystopic Creation Doesn’t Fear You,” the song was shared via Adult Swim’s Singles Program and features Awkwafina. In a lengthy statement about the song, the band said, “In the span of 10 short days last April, Prince passed away, and Bill Clinton shouted down a small group of black women who dared question the morality of 90s legislation with which he ushered in the era of unprecedented mass incarceration that continues to this day. Something about the random concurrence of Prince’s glowing obituaries and Clinton’s elitist intimidation tactics seemed to point at an absurd contradiction at the heart of America’s treatment of its citizens of color….The song we are debuting today grew out of these observations.” Deerhoof will be playing the Crocodile on Saturday, September 16. [ Stereogum ]

  • Nine Inch Nails are releasing a new EP, ADD VIOLENCE, on Friday, the second in series of cohesive EPs. Last week we heard the opening track “Less Than” and now we’ve got another one, “This Isn’t The Place.” In the accompanying video, a camera slowly zooms out on a machine containing labels like “Anxiety”, “Deviation”, “Disorder”, and “Morale.” There are many correlations between words on the machine and items around it to previous NIN projects. ADD VIOLENCE is out digitally and on vinyl on July 21st, with a CD release following on September 1st. The first EP in the trilogy, Not the Actual Events, was released last December. Trent Reznor hopes to put out the third and final installment by the end of the year. [ Consequence of Sound ]

  • Sonic Youth guitarist Lee Ranaldo is releasing a solo album in September called Electric Trim. “New Thing” is the latest song off the album and features vocals from Sharon Van Etten. The video for the song was directed by Naomi Yang, of Galaxie 500, and features Ranaldo walking through the city completely absorbed in a large, outdated computer. An excellent commentary on our current technology obsession. Electric Trim will be released September 15 via Mute. [ Brooklyn Vegan ]

This entry was posted in KEXP, Music News and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories