Friday Music News

photo by Matthew B. Thompson (view set)

  • We shared the first wave of line-up announcements from Iceland Airwaves Music Festival, and today, they’ve rolled out the final list. Fufanu, Reykjavíkurdætur, Sóley, and Gangly have been added to the festival, which already boasted great guests like Fleet Foxes, Michael Kiwanuka, Àsgeir, Aldous Harding, Billy Bragg, Torres, Benjamin Clementine, and more. Stay tuned to KEXP for our annual Iceland Airwaves coverage, and check out past years of reporting on the KEXP Blog here. [ Consequence of Sound ]

  • Last month, Swedish duo The Knife announced that they would be coming out of retirement to release a new live album, film, and photo book focused on their final performances in New York during the 2013 Shaking The Habitual tour. Today, the live album and concert film Shaking the Habitual: Live At Terminal 5 are being released via Rabid Records. Unfortunately, it won’t be available in USA/Canada, U.K./Eire, Asia, and South/Latin America due to a dispute with a label in those territories but the film is available to stream worldwide via YouTube. [ Under the Radar ]

  • Toronto duo Death From Above (sans 1979) are releasing a new album next week called Outrage! Is Now. Today they’ve shared the third single from it, “Holy Books.” The rip-roaring closing track to the album smacks you in the face before slowing down to a snail’s pace with a piano-led melody and then kicking it back up to 11 for a return to the hook. It follows singles “Freeze Me” and “Never Swim Alone.” Outrage! Is Now is out September 9 via Warner Bros./Last Gang Records. Death From Above will play The Showbox on Monday, November 20 with The Beaches. [ Pitchfork ]

  • Bloc Party frontman Kele Okereke is releasing his new solo album, Fatherland, next month and today he’s shared the fourth single “Do U Right.” The soulful track originally started as song for a DJ Koze compilation explains Okereke. “I didn’t get a chance to finish it in time but I knew the song was promising so I kept it for my own album where it mutated and turned into this greasy Stax-style romp.” The song follows “Yemaya,” “Streets Been Talkin,” and “Grounds For Resentment.” Fatherland will be out October 6 via BMG. [ Line of Best Fit ]

  • Los Angeles electronic duo Classixx revealed a brand-new single today called “Possessive” that’s built around a sample of a gospel choir singing Nick Jonas’ 2014 hit “Jealous.” It’s a fun, euphoric dance jam, as we’ve come expect from Classixx. The duo released Faraway Reach last year, no word on whether “Possessive” is a precursor to a new album or just a one-off single. [ SPIN ]

  • 21-year-old Swedish rapper Yung Lean, known for his “sad boy” lyricism and Clams Casino-esque production, released his latest mixtape, Frost God, last year. The dark album already has a follow-up planned for release this year and the first single off of it has been shared. “Red Bottom Sky” is quite a large departure from his previous work, a beautiful and spellbindingly relaxed track that sees Yung Lean channeling his inner Frank Ocean, which isn’t a wild notion or progression considering Lean contributed vocals to Blonde. [ Pigeons & Planes ]

This entry was posted in KEXP, Music News and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories