Wednesday Music News

Photo by

Photo by Ullstein Bild/Getty Images

  • Holger Czukay, co-founder of the influential Krautrock band Can, has passed away at the age of 79. Cause of death is currently unknown. Via Facebook, his bandmates have written:

    We are very sad to confirm that Holger passed away yesterday, in his home, the old CAN Studio in Weilerswist. His wife U-She passed away only weeks before. Holger was devastated by the loss of his beloved partner, but was looking forward to making more music and was in good spirits. His passing has come as a shock. We will post more information about funeral arrangements shortly.

    Czukay is the second member of the band to pass away this year; founding drummer Jaki Liebezeit passed away in January. [ Pitchfork ]

  • St. Vincent has (finally!) made the official announcement about her forthcoming album! In a live press conference via Facebook, Annie Clark revealed that the album will be titled MASSEDUCTION (pronounced “mass-seduction” not “mass-education”) and will be released October 13 via Loma Vista. Clark also shared the second single, following up “New York,” called “Los Ageless.” MASSEDUCTION was recorded in New York’s famous Electric Lady studios and was co-produced by Jack Antonoff. Clark said of the new album, “Every record I make has an archetype. Strange Mercy was Housewives on Pills. St. Vincent was Near-Future Cult Leader. MASSEDUCTION is different, it’s pretty first person. You can’t fact-check it, but if you want to know about my life, listen to this record.” [ Under the Radar ]

  • Ted Leo returns this Friday with a brand new solo album, The Hanged Man, which was fully funded via Kickstarter. Today he debuted the video for “Can’t Go Back,” directed by Rachel Lichtman. The video features Leo in a cheesy compilation album infomercial from the 1970s. Catch Ted Leo and The Pharmacists when they come to Seattle on Wednesday, November 8 to play The Crocodile. [ Stereogum ]

  • Italian composer Daniele Luppi is fond of collaborations; his most famous was with Danger Mouse in 2011. His next endeavor is teaming up with Parquet Courts for a collaborative album called MILANO, which will be out October 27 via Danger Mouse’s 30th Century Records. We’ve previously heard the track “Soul and Cigarette” and today they’ve shared “Talisa” which features vocal contributions from Yeah Yeah Yeah’s Karen O. [ Pitchfork ]

  • Next week, Rostam (of Vampire Weekend) is releasing his debut album Half-Light. He’s shared quite a few tracks from it already, including “Bike Dream,” “Gwan,” “EOS,” “Wood,” and “Don’t Let It Get To You,” and today the album’s title track has been revealed. Featuring vocals from Wet’s Kelly Zutrau, the song is quiet piano ballad. Half-Light is out September 15 via Nonesuch and follows his 2016 collaborative album with Hamilton Leithauser, I Had A Dream That You Were Mine. [ SPIN ]

  • Montreal producer Lunice is gearing up to release his debut solo album CCCLX. “Drop Down” is the second song to be shared off the album and features PC Music producer and Charli XCX collaborator SOPHIE, as well as New York queer vogue-rap sensation Le1f (who Lunice previously worked with on the 2015 single “Umami/Water”). Lunice has previously shared “Disgust” which was a collab with Denzel Curry and C9. CCCLX is shaping up to be a highly-anticipated album with some big names. CCCLX drops September 8 via LuckyMe. [ The Fader ]

This entry was posted in KEXP, Music News and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories