Wednesday Music News

photo by Renata Steiner (view set)

  • Oneohtrix Point Never and Shabazz Palaces‘ Ishmael Butler have teamed up to form a new project called 319. Shared via the Adult Swim Singles Series, “The Rapture” is the first taste we’ve gotten of the collaboration. It’s an unsurprisngly glitchy, experimental track that holds promise. In the past year, Shabazz Palaces put out two new albums and Oneohtrix Point Never scored the film Good Time, which won the soundtrack award at the Cannes Film Festival. [ FACT ]

  • Nashville’s Bully are following up 2015’s Feels Like with the full-length Losing, released via Sub Pop, next month. They’ve previously shared the singles “Feel The Same” and “Running” and today they’ve shared the third single, “Kills To Be Resistant.” Frontwoman Alicia Bognanno said of the new album: “I feel like all my best work has been born of heartbreak and upheaval; maybe most musicians feel that way. The title of the record — Losing — kind of says it all.” Bully will be in Seattle on Wednesday, February 28 to play Neumos. [ Paste ]

  • Liars recently released their eighth full-length TFCF and today they’ve shared the visuals for the track “Starting At Zero.” Filmed in the Australian bush, where Angus Andrew recorded the new album, the video follows two young men in a boat who encounter some strange and mysterious things before the video ends abruptly. Catch Liars at the Crocodile on Saturday, October 7. [ SPIN ]

  • Saxophonist Kamasi Washington is releasing an EP called Harmony of Difference on Friday, his follow-up to 2015’s fantastic The Epic. Today he’s revealed the blissful opening track “Desire” via WeTransfer, who also did a story and interview with Washington. Harmony of Difference is out September 29 via Young Turks. [ Stereogum ]
  • DOOM (fka MF Doom) has been releasing a single a week via Adult Swim’s singles series The Missing Notebook Rhymes the past couple months. Today they all vanished, with Adult Swim releasing the statement: “Adult Swim is ending our relationship with DOOM, and thus, the remaining Missing Notebook Rhymes will, unfortunately, have to remain…missing. We are glad to have had the chance to provide the previous free tracks to our fans.” The series was supposed to continue until November 13. Luckily, this ending hasn’t stopped DOOM from releasing new music on his own. Today he shared the song “Gorilla Monsoon” from his new collaboration with Buffalo rapper Westside Gunn that they’re calling WESTSIDEDOOM. [ Pitchfork ]

This entry was posted in KEXP, Music News and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories