In Stores Now 10/9


Over the past few weeks, DJ Kevin Cole has been premiering tracks from the new 2-disc set The Replacements For Sale: Live At Maxwell’s 1986, which is now in stores. The collection features remastered versions of a show taped with a 24-track mobile studio, with new liner notes by Bob Mehr, author of Trouble Boys: The True Story Of The Replacements, as well as never-before-seen photos from the Maxwell’s show by photographer Caryn Rose.

Canadian band Wolf Parade returns with their fourth album (and first in seven years. KEXP Music Director Don Yates calls it “a smartly crafted blend of New Waveish post-punk, Bowiesque glam, spacy prog-pop and more, combining a densely textured sound with anxiety-fueled, often-politically charged lyrics for these troubled times.” British band My Sad Captains also deliver their fourth LP, featuring “a revamped lineup and a more varied sound ranging from hypnotic motorik jams and chugging Velvet Underground-style pop to ambient dream-pop.”

On their sophomore full-length, New Zealand band Yumi Zouma bring a “well-crafted set of buoyant indie-pop with shimmering synths, glistening guitars, lush strings, gently propulsive rhythms, soft vocals and sugary melodies.” Mister Heavenly — a collaboration of Ryan Kattner (aka Honus Honus of Man Man), Nick Thorburn of Islands and Joe Plummer (Cold War Kids, Modest Mouse) — release a “playful, eclectic set ranging from propulsive, motorik post-punk and noise-addled garage-rock to bouncy psych-pop and reggaefied yacht-rock.” And on their third album, Toledo, OH band Citizen bring “a well-crafted set of emotive, ’90s-steeped rock combining a thick, muscular sound with anthemic song hooks.”

Angel Deradoorian – “Mountainside”
from Eternal Recurrence on Anticon

August Burns Red – “King of Sorrow”
from Phantom Anthem on Fearless Records

Ben Boye / Mark Kozelek / Jim White – “Topo Gigio”
from Mark Kozelek with Ben Boye and Jim White on Caldo Verde Records

Benjamin Clementine – “Farewell Sonata”
from I Tell a Fly on Behind / Virgin EMI

The Black Dahlia Murder – “Matriarch”
from Nightbringers on Metal Blade

Blue Hawaii – “Versus Game”
from Tenderness on Arbutus Records

Bottin – “Perfect Mind”
from I Have What I Gave on 2MR

Bunny – “Dracula’s Blues”
from Bunny on Tin Angel

Canon Blue – “Beholden”
from Lasso Yo on Temporary Residence

Carla Bruni – “Miss You”
from French Touch on Decca / Verve

The Church – “Another Century”
from Man Woman Life Death Infinity on Unorthodox

Citizen – “In the Middle of It All”
from As You Please on Run for Cover Records

Cults – “Offering”
from Offering on Sinderlyn

The Darkness – “All The Pretty Girls”
from Pinewood Smile on Cooking Vinyl

Dhani Harrison – “All About Waiting”
from IN///PARALLEL on BMG / Hot Records

Ducktails – “Map to the Stars”
from Jersey Devil on New Images

Gill Landry – “Denver Girls”
from Love Rides a Dark Horse on ATO

Gwen Stefani – “You Make It Feel Like Christmas (feat. Blake Shelton)”
from You Make It Feel Like Christmas on Interscope / Polydor

JD McPherson – “Lucky Penny”
from Undivided Heart & Soul on New West

Jerrod Niemann – “God Made A Woman”
from This Ride on Curb

Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith / Stargaze – “An Intention”
from The Kid on Western Vinyl Records

Kele Okereke – “Streets Been Talkin'”
from Fatherland on BMG

Kelela – “LMK”
from Take Me Apart on Warp

Liam Gallagher – “For What It’s Worth”
from As You Were on Warner Music/Cinram Logistics

Marilyn Manson – “We Know Where You Fucking Live”
from Heaven Upside Down on Loma Vista

Mister Heavenly – “Makin’ Excuses”
from Boxing the Moonlight on Polyvinyl

My Sad Captains – “Don’t Listen To Your Heart”
from Sun Bridge on Bella Union

Nick Nicely – “Solar Wind”
from Sleep Safari on Tapete Records

from Happy Talk EP on Omnivore

The Replacements
from For Sale: Live at Maxwell’s 1986 on Rhino / Sire

Shigeto – “Detroit Part II”
from The New Monday on Ghostly International

Simon Joyner – “Earthquake”
from Step Into the Earthquake on Shrimper/BB*ISLAND

Sound of Ceres – “Gemini Scenic”
from The Twin on Joyful Noise

Twin Bandit – “Everything Under the Sun”
from Full Circle on Nettwerk

Whitney Rose – “Better To My Baby”
from Rule 62 on Six Shooter Records

Wolf Parade – “You’re Dreaming”
from Cry Cry Cry on Sub Pop

The World – “Namaste”
from First World Record on Upset the Rhythm

Yumi Zouma – “December”
from Willowbank on Cascine

This entry was posted in In Stores Now, KEXP and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories