Tuesday Music News

photo by Matthew B. Thompson (view set)

  • Before legendary soul singer Sharon Jones died last year from pancreatic cancer, she recorded a final album with the Dap-Kings. Today the album has been officially announced and the lead single has been shared. The LP is called Soul Of A Woman and will be out November 17 via Daptone. The single is “Matter of Time” and comes with a video of concert footage from a variety of shows from Jones’ long career. The album was recorded at Daptone’s House of Soul studio while Jones was between treatments. [ Pitchfork ]

  • St. Vincent is releasing her new album MASSEDUCTION this Friday and today she unveiled the third single off the album, called “Pills.” The epic song features guest vocals from Jenny Lewis and Clark’s ex Cara Delevigne, saxophone from Kamasi Washington, and production from Soundwave. “Pills” follows “New York” and “Los Ageless” and features a sinister hook of “Pills to walk, pills to think/ Pills, pills, pills for the family/ Pills to grow, pills to shrink/ Pills, pills, pills and a good stiff drink.” [ Rolling Stone ]

  • Los Angeles art punk duo No Age have announced they’ll be releasing their fifth full-length early next year. Called Snares Like A Haircut, the album will be their first since 2013’s An Object. They’ve also shared the lead single, “Soft Collar Fad.” Snares Like A Haircut will be released January 26 via Drag City. [ SPIN ]

  • Swedish folk sister duo First Aid Kit returned with their first new release since 2014’s Stay Gold last month with the single “It’s A Shame.” Today the song has received the video treatment from Mats Udd who was inspired by the 1998 Gwyneth Paltrow film Sliding Doors to put Klara and Johanna Söderberg in the same scenarios but with different results. A forthcoming album hasn’t been announced yet, but we expect it will soon. [ Under the Radar ]

  • New York duo Sleigh Bells only just released their latest album Jessica Rabbit last year but have already announced a new “mini-album” due out November 10 via their own label. Entitled Kid Kruschev, the album will be seven songs long and, if the lead single is any indication, will be a big departure from their previous noise-pop sound. “And Saints” is slinky, synthy chillwave (and quite good). [ Noisey ]

This entry was posted in KEXP, Music News and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories