Monday Music News

photo by Jim Bennett (view set)

  • My Morning Jacket frontman Jim James has announced a collection of covers called Tribute To 2. James released a solo EP Tribute To in 2009 which was a handful of acoustic George Harrison covers following Harrison’s death. For Tribute To 2 James is covering a variety of different artists such as Elvis, Bob Dylan, Irving Berlin, and The Beach Boys. Today James shared his version of The Beach Boys’ “I Just Wasnt Made For These Times” off of Pet Sounds. Tribute To 2 will be released December 8 via ATO. [ Under the Radar ]

  • We have more confirmation that a new My Bloody Valentine album is forthcoming, this time from the band’s drummer and founding member Colm Ó Cíosóig who affirmed the rumors in a radio station interview, saying “I’ve been working on that [album] preceding this tour and I’m going to go back and work on that once the tour is done. It’s in the making.” Rumors first sprouted when Kevin Shields bio in the promo materials for Sigur Rós’ music festival mentioned a new My Bloody Valentine album would be coming in 2018. The Dublin band’s last album was 2013’s m b v. [ Consequence of Sound ]
  • Chicago rapper Open Mike Eagle has shared a new song, appropriate for Halloween, called “Dating Ghosts.” The song accompanies the latest episode of his ongoing tour documentary #DeadAss and will apparently “disappear at some point.” OME released his latest album Brick Body Kids Still Daydream earlier this year. [ SPIN ]

  • Justin Vernon quietly released his star-making debut Bon Iver album For Emma, Forever Ago all the way back in July of 2007. He’s now celebrating the 10-year anniversary of the album with a limited-edition reissue and a special concert at Milwaukee’s BMO Harris Bradley Center on February 17. The reissue will be released on CD and vinyl, featuring new artwork and an essay by collaborator Trever Hagen. Bon Iver released 22, A Million last year. [ Pitchfork ]
  • San Diego surf rock band Wavves have teamed up with Culture Abuse, their opening act on their current tour co-headlining with Joyce Manor, for a new single called “Up And Down.” The enjoyably catchy song will be available on 7″ vinyl soon. Wavves released their latest album Peach last year. [ Stereogum ]

This entry was posted in KEXP, Music News and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories