Tuesday Music News

photo by Josh Bis

  • Sufjan Stevens recently released the mixtape The Greatest Gift, which features remixes of songs from 2015’s Carrie & Lowell along with a few previously unreleased tracks. Yesterday he shared a video for Helado Negro’s remix of “Death With Dignity,” off The Greatest Gift. The emotional clip focuses on three cancer patients, Theresa, Roland, and Justin, as they journey through their battle with the disease. The video is currently an Apple Music exclusive and only available for subscribers to watch here. [ SPIN ]
  • Glasgow’s Frightened Rabbit shared a new single on Christmas Day called “No Real Life.” In typical Frightened Rabbit fashion, it’s an emotive, heart-rending song. In a note on Twitter accompanying the song, the band encourages that fans donate to Alzheimers Scotland, saying: “With your help, their aim is to make sure that nobody in this country faces dementia alone.” Frightened Rabbit released the Recorded Songs EP featuring Julien Baker this past September. Their last full-length was 2016’s Painting of a Panic Attack. [ Stereogum ]

  • New Orleans rapper Lil Wayne has dropped a new mixtape, Dedication 6. It’s the latest installment in the Dedication series, which started in 2005 and features Weezy rapping over other rappers’ records, making them his own and then releasing the results for free. Dedication 6 takes from a variety of 2017’s top hits, including Kendrick Lamar’s “DNA,” Jay-Z’s “The Story of O.J.,” Lil Uzi Vert’s “XO Tour Life,” and Post Malone’s “Rockstar.” The mixtape was made with longtime collaborator DJ Drama. Lil Wayne’s last release was 2015’s No Ceilings 2. [ Rolling Stone ]

  • James Blake has released a cover of Don McLean’s tribute to Vincent Van Gogh, “Vincent.” Blake has been playing the song live during most of his sets this year but we now have a studio version of his take as well as a video of him recording it at Los Angeles’ Conway Studios. “Vincent” is from McLean’s 1971 album American Pie. Blake’s last album was 2016’s The Colour In Anything. [ Consequence of Sound ]


  • New Zealand psychedelic indie band Unknown Mortal Orchestra have continued their Christmas tradition of releasing an extended instrumental track on the holiday. This year’s song is the 27-minute “SB-05,” following “SB-01,” “SB-02, “SB-03,” and “SB-04.” The song is the first we’ve heard of the band since they shared the track “First World Problem” back in May. [ Pitchfork ]

This entry was posted in KEXP, Music News and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories