Tuesday Music News

photo by Dave Lichterman (view set)

  • A new Flying Lotus track has emerged on a new mix from producer PBDY called “Brainfeeder 2017 ∞ 2018″ that features new songs from the label’s artists. The mix’s description on SoundCloud states that it’s a “collection of Brainfeeder tracks & rarities as well as a glimpse of what’s to come in 2018.” The mix features music from Lapalux and Iglooghost as well as a couple of Thundercat remixes. Then, tucked away until the very end of the 46-minute playlist is a new instrumental from Flying Lotus called “Quarantine.” FlyLo is expected to release a new studio album via Warp sometime soon. [ FACT ]

  • This weekend, just in the nick of time, King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard completed their goal of releasing five albums in 2017. The fifth and final album of 2017 is called Gumboot Soup and features the previously shared songs: “All Is Known,” “Beginner’s Luck,” “Greenhouse Heat Death,” and “The Last Oasis.” It follows  February’s Flying Microtonal Banana, June’s Murder Of The Universe, August’s Sketches Of Brunswick East, and November’s Polygondwanaland all released via ATO. [ Under the Radar ]

  • Los Angeles punk outfit FIDLAR have kicked off 2018 with a cover of the Nirvana classic “Frances Farmer Will Have Her Revenge On Seattle.” FIDLAR’s take on the In Utero track delivers a similar aggression while kicking it up a notch on the chorus with the whole gang chiming in. In a recent interview, the band revealed that there’s new music in the works. A release date has not been revealed. [ Consequence of Sound ]

  • Odd Future member Earl Sweatshirt has also also revealed that he’ll be releasing new music in the new year. In a tweet posted on December 31, Earl states: “new chunes 2018, don’t think i wasn’t at work.” His last album was 2015’s I Don’t Like Shit, I Don’t Go Outside. In September he debuted a new song at Anaheim’s Day N Night Festival. [ SPIN ]

  • Former president and playlist connoisseur Barack Obama has made a playlist of his favorite songs of 2017. The hip-hop-heavy playlist includes tracks by Kendrick Lamar, Frank Ocean, SZA, Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings, The National, and Portugal. The Man. It’s a fun listen and displays Obama’s knack for staying on top of new music. He’s also shared a list of his favorite books of the year and included honorable mentions to Bruce Springsteen and Shea Serrano, who wrote the Rap Year Book. [ Pitchfork ]

This entry was posted in KEXP, Music News and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories