Thursday Music News

photo by Eliot Lee Hazel

  • tUnE-yArDs are returning next week with a new album, I can feel you creep into my private life, and today we’ve received the third single from the album, “Heart Attack.” The fun, upbeat track shows the new, more accessible direction the band is taking. This will be the first album where the band, previously the solo project of Merrill Garbus, becomes a duo with the addition of longtime collaborator Nate Brenner to the official lineup. The song comes with a colorful video directed by Mimi Cave that features a troupe of dancers with bags over their heads. The song follows “Look At Your Hands” and “ABC 123.” Tune-Yards will by stop by Seattle on Monday, Feb. 26 to play The Showbox. [ Under the Radar ]

  • Yeah Yeah Yeahs frontwoman Karen O has released a new song today featuring vocals from English singer Michael Kiwanuka called “Yo! My Saint.” The song was made to soundtrack a short film from the fashion house Kenzo that stars Alex Zhang Hungtai (formerly of Dirty Beaches) and actress Jessica Henwick (of Game Of Thrones and Iron Fist). Karen O also makes an appearance as Hungtai’s assistant. A limited-edition 7″ of “Yo! My Saint” is out January 22 and will only be available at Karen O’s website and at Kenzo stores. [ Stereogum ]

  • Jay Som released her fantastic debut album Everybody Works this past year and today she announced that she’ll be following it up with a new 7-inch featuring new songs from the Everybody Works sessions. Entitled Pirouette, the release is made up of two songs, “Pirouette” and “O.K., Meet Me Underwater.” Melina Duterte said of the release: “Both of these tracks were made during the spring of 2016 — the first demo stages for Everybody Works. They were fun to write and record but felt out of place on the track list during the finalization of the album. These tracks remain close to my heart and I’m really grateful they’re finally out in the world.” Duterte has shared “Pirouette” today. The 7-inch is out January 26 via Polyvinyl. Jay Som is coming to Neumos on Thursday, Feb. 15 with Japanese Breakfast and Hand Habits. [ Paste ]

  • Greta Kline is releasing her first Frankie Cosmos album on Sub Pop this March, Vessel. Today the first single from the album has been shared. Entitled “Jesse,” the song starts in her typically hushed way and picks up momentum as the rest of the band kicks in. The song comes with visuals by Ariel Noltimier Strauss of a poodle and a bathtub. Vessel is out March 30 via Sub Pop. [ SPIN ]

  • Alice Glass has been in the headlines a lot lately for her allegations against former Crystal Castles bandmate Ethan Kath but she also released a fantastic debut solo EP this past year. Today she’s shared the video for “Forgiveness” off the self-titled EP. The dark video, directed by Lindsey Mann, sees Glass in a grim club bathroom. Glass says the song “is about rejecting the idea of forgiveness. Forgiveness isn’t always a moral act, the way some religions portray it. Sometimes forgiveness can be exploitative or even predatory, especially when people use it as a means to guilt someone rather than heal them. When forgiveness is used to create a false sense of superiority it is a toxic act.” [ Pitchfork ]

This entry was posted in KEXP, Music News and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories