Out This Week 1/29

2013 continues to bolt out of the gate with another solid week of new releases. With the long awaited followup to their well-received 2009 debut, Local Natives top our list of must-buys. Hummingbird finds the Silver Lake, Los Angeles, group pushing into new territories of song structure, challenging listeners while still enticing them the same rich harmonies that made them an initial success. Another anticipated followup out this week is the seventh studio album by Canadian twins Tegan & Sara, whose Heartthrob is an well-produced, achingly romantic collection of indie pop. Philadelphia’s Bleeding Rainbow (formerly known as Reading Rainbow) has expanded their roster and their sound on their new and third album. Our Music Director, Don Yates, calls Yeah Right “an impressive blend of shoegazerish psych-rock and dream-pop, with noisy, squalling psych guitars, airy male/female harmonies and sugary pop melodies.” And after trimming down his project, New Zealand expatriate Ryan McPhun carries on as The Ruby Suns, with “a cleaner and brighter along with more synth- and dance-oriented take on the band’s tropical-flavored indie pop.”

Other new releases from artists you’ll hear on KEXP, come from Adam Green & Binki Shapiro, he of Moldy Peaches and she of Little Joy, whose debut together is an “expertly crafted set of ’60s-inspired folk-pop duets, smoothly combining a variety of colorful instrumentation with the duo’s plaintive vocals and lyrics that range from wry and bittersweet to acidic”; Australian artist Jarrod Quarrell, whose new solo project Lost Animal debuts with “a promising set of moody indie-pop combining icy synths, piano, xylophone, atmospheric guitars and occasional tropical touches (including marimba and steel drum sounds) with bouncy rhythms, sneering vocals and dark lyrics”; Real Estate guitarist Matt Mondanile who through his own side project, Ducktails, is releasing a fourth album blending “jangly guitars, twinkling keyboards, occasional sax, gentle rhythms, understated vocals and wistful pop melodies”; and Copenhagen-based artist Soren Lokke Juul, whose debut as Indians, “is a fine set of ethereal twee-pop with a hazy sound combining atmospheric synths and guitars with delicate lead vocals, multi-tracked vocal harmonies and twinkling pop melodies.”

Also, Seattle band St. Paul de Vence officially releases their debut full-length, “an often-stirring set of campfire folk-pop that’s reminiscent at times of a more French-influenced The Head and The Heart,” and the Spanish loving duo of Amor de Días, a.k.a. Clientele frontman Alasdair MacLean and his songwriting partner Lupe Núñez-Fernández (of the duo Pipas), are releasing their second LP, which they happened to premiere on the KEXP blog last week! Check out all of these, as well as the expanded 3-CD edition of Fleetwood Mac‘s Rumours, in record stores today.

Amor de Días – Jean’s Waving (MP3)
from The House at Sea on Merge Records

Bleeding Rainbow – Drift Away
from Yeah Right on Kanine Records

Aimee Bobruk – A Day in the Life (MP3)
from /ba.’brook/ (self-released)

Buke & Gase – General Dome
from General Dome on Brassland

Ducktails – The Flower Lane
from The Flower Lane on Domino Record Co.

Adam Green and Binki Shapiro – Just To Make Me Feel Good
from Adam Green and Binki Shapiro on Rounder Records

The History of Apple Pie – See You
from Out of View on Marshall Teller Records

Indians – I Am Haunted (MP3)
from Somewhere Else on 4AD

La Big Vic – Avenue B (MP3)
from Cold War on Underwater Peoples

Lady Lazarus – Lapsarian (MP3)
from All My Love in Half Light (self-released)

Local Natives – Breakers
from Hummingbird on Frenchkiss

Lost Animal – Say No to Thugs (MP3)
from Ex Tropical on Hardly Art

Mice Parade – This River Has A Tidevz (MP3)
from Candela on Fat Cat Records

ON AN ON – The Hunter
from Give In on Roll Call Records

Onward Chariots – Mama (MP3)
from This Is My Confession on Skipping Stones

Parisian – Sean (MP3)
from Phaseone/Parisia on Lefse Records

Radar Brothers – If We Were Banished (MP3)
from Eight on Merge Records

The Ruby Suns – Kingfisher Call Me (MP3)
from Christopher on Sub Pop

Elin Ruth – Bang (MP3)
from Elin Ruth (self-released)

St. Paul de Vence – Pink Wine (MP3)
from St. Paul de Vence (self-released)

Tegan and Sara – Closer
from Heartthrob on Sire Records

Tomahawk – Stone Letter
from Oddfellows on Ipecac Recordings

Total Warr – Where Is My Mind (Pixies Cover)
from Loisy EP (self-released)

Y La Bamba – Oh February (MP3)
from Oh February on Tender Loving Empire

Yellow Red Sparks – Monsters with Misdemeanors (MP3)
from Yellow Red Sparks on ORG Music

This entry was posted in KEXP, Out This Week!. Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

One Comment

  1. Posted February 2, 2013 at 11:01 am | Permalink

    Thanks for the mention and thanks for posting our track! I’m honored. To me, KEXP is a legend!

    Dare I mention our new video in which Mel Gibson pummels us mercilessly?

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories