Wednesday Music News

photo by gail o’hara

  • After being pretty quiet for several years, Future Bible Heroes — one of the projects of The Magnetic Fields mastermind Stephen Merritt and his collaborators Claudia Gonson and Christopher Ewen — are making a big re-entrance into the music world with their soon-to-be-released box set Memories of Love, Eternal Youth, and Partygoing. The set includes all the previous recorded work of the group as well as the brand new album Partygoing. They’ve also shared the new track “Living, Loving, Partygoing”, which features Claudia Gonson on vocals over the electro-disco instrumental by Ewen and Merritt, which you can stream below. [Stereogum]

  • Kakkmaddafakka (say it aloud) from Norway have written a new song titled “Bill Clinton” about the experience of being able to finally play hard-to-get to all those girls who used to spurn you were you were your younger and less sexier self. The video they’ve made for the cheerful indie-pop song is a bunch of spliced together scenes from Youth In Revolt with Michael Cera, which fits quite well with the mood of the song, actually. Check it out below. [Stereogum]

  • The Pablo Cuckoo Tape — a demo tape of the 1983 unsigned-era of The Smiths — has resurfaced and gives us a chance to hear the raw young band before they hit the national and international spotlight. Considering the audio is from a cassette deck recording from the floor of the rehearsal room, it sounds pretty great! Check it out below. [CoS]

  • How’s this for a jam session match made in heaven — ?uestlove and D’Angelo. It happened last year for the superjam at Bonnaroo, and now Bonnaroo365 has made a behind the scenes and performance video for the event available online. The historic jam session featured not only The Roots’ drummer and D’Angelo, but other members of The Roots, Parliament Funkadelic, and many others. Further song performances will be made available online in the coming weeks, but for the first installment you can relive the performance of Prince’s “My Summertime Thang”. [CoS]

  • Record Store Day is fast approaching, and a couple of labels have just announced some of their offerings for 2013. On April 20th, you’ll have the chance to pick up a limited edition of Frightened Rabbit‘s The Midnight Organ Fight, which was released in the U.S. on FatCat, but never on vinyl. This special 2xLP set, limited to 500 copies, comes packaged with Quietly, Now!, a live and acoustic version of the album recorded in a tiny pub in Glasgow. Also, Seattle’s own Light in the Attic Records have announced four releases from Public Image Ltd., Roky Erickson, Theppabutr Productions, and Mercury Rev. Stay tuned for more! [More info here and here]

This entry was posted in KEXP, Music News and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories