Wednesday Music News

Sharon Jones and the Dap Kings performing at the Treefort Music Festival / photo by Alex Crick

  • Brooklyn soul revivalists Sharon Jones and the Dap Kings have announced a new album, Give the People What They Want, and have released a new track from it. Funky and everything the people wanted from a follow-up, “Retreat!” is also sassy – “live with me and you’ll play with fire.” Check it out. [Pitchfork]

  • The National might have already debuted their track “Sea of Love”, but the video they released today is definitely worthwhile. While they jam, and are jammed into a tiny room, a little boy wearing a similar outfit to them (black suit) dances in front of them. Though the track might have felt somber at first, the amount of dancing taking place in this video sheds a new light on the track “If I stay, trouble will find me” seems less ominous in the white room, where the band is clearly forced to stay. [Spin]

  • Smith Westerns have a great 90s inspired, dream-like new video out today for “Varsity” off their upcoming Soft Will. In the video a young couple romp playfully on a graffiti-ed rooftop. Slow motion abounds, and as the song says “I guess it’s a point of view,” the POV is constantly shifting, from looking up at fruit being crushed, to looked out over the city-scape. [Impose]

  • [NSFW] David Bowie has apparently conceived the incredibly strange new video for “The Next Day” off his recent album. There is something about religion going on, as a dancing woman played by Marion Cotillard hands suddenly erupt with stigmata, as well as Gary Oldman who Bowie apparently has worked with before. As with many of Bowie’s videos, it’s a bit uncanny, a bit surreal, and a decent bit baffling. [Pitchfork]

  • Since her 2006 debut Alela Diane has made a name for her in the too-often-overlooked realm of female singer-songwriters with her ghostly lilting voice and penchant for heavy material. Today he has released the sad and sorry title track from her upcoming LP – “About Farewell.” While simple, the song is cuttingly sad. The album will be out June 25th via Rusted Blue. [GvsB]

This entry was posted in KEXP, Music News and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories