Wednesday Music News

photo by Renata Steiner

  • Baltimore duo Wye Oak will release their next album, Shriek, on April 29 through Merge, and you can check out the track “The Tower” below. The twosome have also released a batch of US tour dates — no Seattle show yet — and in a press release, frontwoman Jenn Wasner states they’ll donate $2 from the sale of each show ticket to a local charity. [Pitchfork]

  • We’ve also got new music to share from Eels, a.k.a. Mark Oliver Everett, a.k.a. E. Stream the track “Agatha Chang,” from his upcoming eleventh full-length album The Cautionary Tales of Mark Oliver Everett, out April 22nd on his own label, E Works. A press release describes the album as “an extraordinarily vivid and intimate document of a personal struggle.” [Stereogum]

  • A former collaboration of Elliott Smith and Soul Coughing frontman Mike Doughty has surfaced: the project dates back to the late ’90s in Los Angeles, where Smith was working on the Good Will Hunting soundtrack; Doughty later composed the electronic music under the name UUL. Doughty states, “I didn’t seek permission to put this out. This is a collaboration Elliott and I began a long time ago, and this is the form we intended.” [Consequence of Sound]

  • Philly psych-folk band Dr. Dog has shared the new video for the track “Distant Light” off last year’s release, B-Room. They’ll be stopping by Seattle on Wednesday, April 5th, playing The Neptune with Saint Rich. [Stereogum]

  • Yesterday, we announced the line-up for the 2014 Primavera Sound Festival, including the reuniting of shoegaze veterans Slowdive. Today, the band has confirmed an additional show on May 19th at the Village Underground in London, with the promise of more shows to come. Let’s all cross our fingers for Seattle. [Pitchfork]
This entry was posted in KEXP, Music News and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories