Out This Week 5/6

One of the most exciting new releases of the week comes from Oakland artist Merrill Garbus, better known as tUnE-yArDs. KEXP Music Director Don Yates describes her third album as “an inventive set of visceral, rhythm-driven avant-pop with consistently strong, brightly melodic songs featuring a densely layered and looped sound using a variety of colorful instrumentation, including an assortment of live and synthetic drums along with lots of homemade percussion fleshing out Haitian Vodou, African and other exotic rhythms underneath her elastic vocals and probing lyrics about self-doubt and the trials of the creative process.” (She’ll be LIVE on KEXP on Saturday, May 24th at 3:00 PM PT.)

British band The Horrors are back with “an adventurous, masterfully crafted blend of shoegazer psych-rock, dream-pop, post-punk, motorik German prog, 80s-inspired electro-pop and more, with an intricately textured sound combining oceanic guitars, sparkling synths, rolling rhythms, languid vocals and majestic pop hooks.”

Swedish artist Lykke Li returns with her third album I Never Learn, which Yates describes as “a bleak, monochromatic set of somber heartbreak ballads featuring a cavernous, heavily reverbed, densely layered and occasionally overblown sound with mournful keyboards, strummed acoustic guitars, sluggish tempos, aching, multi-tracked vocals and lovelorn lyrics.”

Other new releases to look out for include the latest from Scottish trio PAWS, described as “another first-rate set of scruffy, ’90s-influenced garage-pop.” The debut from Atlanta artist Curtis Harding is “an impressive set of expansive soul inflected with funk, blues, psych and garage-rock” on Burger Records. Famed UK musician/producer Brian Eno teams up with Underworld frontman Karl Hyde for “an album of dance-friendly electro-pop, featuring a busy, densely textured sound with intricate rhythms, bright synths, driving guitars, tinny synthesized horns and wistful melodies.”

Lily Allen – “Sheezus (Featuring BOY)”
from Sheezus on Atlantic

Amarante – “Cavalo”
from Cavalo on Easy Sound

Andrew Jackson Jihad – “Linda Ronstadt”
from Christmas Island on Side One Dummy

Antwon – “Rain Song (Ft. Lil Ugly Mane)”
from Heavy Hearted in Doldrums on UNIF

Atmosphere – “Bitter”
from Southsiders on Rhymesayers

bis – “Control The Radical”
from data Panik etcetera on Do Yourself In

Brian Eno / Karl Hyde – “The Satellites”
from Someday World on Warp

Liam Finn – “Snug As Fuck”
from The Nihilist on Yep Roc

Fujiya & Miyagi – “FLAWS”
from Artificial Sweeteners on Yep Roc

Curtis Harding – “Keep On Shining”
from Soul Power on Burger Records

The Horrors – “So Now You Know”
from Luminous on XL

Inspiral Carpets – “Head For The Sun”
from Dung 4 [Expanded Edition] on Cherry Red

Nikki Lane – “Seein’ Double”
from All or Nothin’ on New West

from LAFAWNDAH EP on self-released

Lykke Li – “No Rest For The Wicked”
from I Never Learn on Atlantic

King Dude – “Fear Is All You Know”
from Fear on Not Just Religious

Kirsty MacColl – “All I Ever Wanted”
from All I Ever Wanted: The Anthology on Salvo

Morning Parade – “Culture Vulture (Acoustic)”
from Pure Adulterated Joy on Caroline / So Recordings

Nine Black Alps – “Supermarket Clothes”
from Candy for the Clowns on Hatch

Pacifika – “Yo Te Amo” (Adam Popowitz Geek Mix)
from Amor Planeta on Six Degrees

Papercuts – “Still Knocking At The Door”
from Life Among the Savages on Easy Sound

PAWS – “Tongues”
from Youth Culture Forever on FatCat Records

The Rails – “Breakneck Speed”
from Fair Warning on Universal

Gruff Rhys – “American Interior”
from American Interior on Caroline

Savages – “Fuckers” trailer
from “Fuckers” b/w “Dream Baby Dream” 12″ on Matador/Pop Noire

Sonny Rollins – “Someday I’ll Find You”
from Road Shows, Vol. 3 on OKeh Records

Jenny Scheinman – “The Littlest Prisoner”
from The Littlest Prisoner on Masterworks

Tech N9ne – “Hard (A Monster Made It)” feat. MURS
from Strangeulation on Strange Music

Tiny Ruins – “Me At The Museum, You In The Wintergardens”
from Brightly Painted One on Bella Union

tUnE-yArDs – “Water Fountain”
from Nikki Nack on 4AD

We Were Evergreen – “Daughters ( Aeroplane Remix )”
from Towards on Universal-Island Records

Young Magic – “Fall In”
from Breathing Statues on Carpark Records

Wooden Wand – “Dambuilding”
from Farmer’s Corner on Fire Records

This entry was posted in KEXP, Out This Week! and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories