Out This Week 5/20

Bright Eyes frontman Conor Oberst returns with his latest solo release, Upside Down Mountain. KEXP Music Director Don Yates says the new album, “features a warm, rich sound with acoustic and electric guitars and keyboards along with occasional horns, pedal steel, woodwinds and gorgeous harmonies courtesy of Swedish duo First Aid Kit accompanying Oberst’s quavering vocals and reflective, smartly crafted lyrics.”

Brooklyn-based artist Jolie Holland shares her fifth studio album this week, “an edgy blend of rock, blues, folk, jazz and other styles. Recorded with a stellar lineup of New York downtown jazz and experimental musicians, the album features an adventurous sound with rumbling, discordant guitars along with occasional horns, violin and cello accompanying her elastic, tremulous vocals and evocative lyrics.”

DC trio Trans Am aren’t slowing down with their tenth studio album, which Yates describes as “a wildly diverse and often-engaging affair ranging from motorik trance-rock and robotic synth-pop to heavy stoner-rock and even some blistering thrash metal.” Malian artist Toumani Diabate teams up with his son, Sidiki, a famed Malian hip hop producer, for “an enchanting set of traditional kora duets.” UK band Archie Bronson Outfit, now pared down to the duo of S. Windett and Arp Cleveland, present “a more streamlined take on the band’s psych-tinged garage-rock with fuzzy guitars, skronky sax and catchy song hooks.”

(Various Artists) Kode9 – Hyperdub 10.1 Compilation mini mix
from Hyperdub 10.1 on Hyperdub

Oren Ambarchi / Randall Dunn / Stephen O’Malley – “Shade Themes from Kairos”
from Shade Themes from Kairos on Drag City

American Football – “Untitled #1 (The One With The Trumpet)”
from American Football deluxe reissue on Polyvinyl

Archie Bronson Outfit – “We Are Floating”
from Wild Crush on Domino

Syd Arthur – “Garden Of Time”
from Sound Mirror on Harvest / Virgin EMI

Haley Bonar – “Kill the Fun”
from Last War on FKLG / Graveface Records

Bottin – “All for One (feat. Rodion)”
from Punica Fides on Bear Funk

The Brian Jonestown Massacre – “What You Isn’t”
from Revelation on A

Melaena Cadiz – “Needles River”
from Deep Below Heaven on Wild Kindness

Chatham County Line – “Any Port In A Storm”
from Tightrope on Yep Roc

Coldplay – “Magic”
from Ghost Stories on Atlantic / Parlophone

Toumani Diabaté and Sidiki Diabaté – “Father & Son | Part 1″
from Toumani & Sidiki on World Circuit Records

John Doe discusses his first best-of album
from The Best of John Doe This Far on Yep Roc

Ed Schrader’s Music Beat – “Pink Moons”
from Party Jail on Infinity Cat

The Everymen – “A Girl Named Lou Pt. 2 (feat. A.C. Newman)”
from Givin Up on Free Jazz on Ernest Jenning Record Co

FKA Twigs – “XXX”
from EP2 on XL Recordings / Young Turks

Chilly Gonzales – “Re-Introduction Etudes”
from Re-Introduction Etudes on Gentle Threat

Jolie Holland – “Springtime Can Kill You”
from Wine Dark Sea on Anti-

Les Big Byrd – “Back to Bagarmossen”
from They Worshipped Cats on A

Lonesome Shack – “Wrecks”
from More Primitive on Alive Records

Mr. Scruff – “We Are Coming”
from Friendly Bacteria on Ninja Tune

Disco Orchestral – “Do It Again”
from Strange Breaks & Mr. Thing, Vol. 3 on BBE

Bo Ningen – “DaDaDa”
from III on PIAS / Stolen

No Bails – “PRN”
from Epyx Shredder on Pelican Pow Wow

Conor Oberst – “Governor’s Ball”
from Upside-Down Mountain on Nonesuch

Plaid – “Tether [Ion Driver Remix]”
from Reachy Prints on Warp

Pujol – “Circles”
from Kludge on Saddle Creek Records

RBTS Win – “Death Magic”
from Palm Sunday on Tidal Prism

The Roots – “When The People Cheer”
from …And Then You Shoot Your Cousin on Def Jam

Royal Trux – “The Inside Game”
from Radio Video EP on Domino

SBTRKT – “Hold the Line”
from Transitions II 12″ on Young Turks

Third Coast Kings – “Just Move”
from West Grand Boulevard on Record Kicks

Yann Tiersen – “A Midsummer Evening”
from ∞ (Infinity) on Mute

Trans Am – “I’ll Never (Alternate Version)”
from Volume X on Thrill Jockey

White Sea – “Future Husbands Past Lives”
from In Cold Blood on Crush Music

Wooden Wand – “Dambuilding”
from Farmer’s Corner on Fire

Zero Boys – “Third Strike”
from Monkey on self-titled

This entry was posted in KEXP, Out This Week! and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories