Out This Week 6/10

It’s a release as big as his mouth — the latest from trouble-making troubadour Jack White is titled Lazaretto. KEXP Music Director Don Yates describes the album as, “a typically masterful set of rootsy rock ranging from high-stepping blues-rock and brooding, spaghetti western-influenced rock to plaintive country and folk-tinged ballads.”

The new release from Swedish sister duo First Aid Kit is a “more musically sophisticated and lyrically personal take on their poignant folk-pop, featuring a variety of majestic, beautifully crafted songs with lush arrangements combining strings, acoustic guitars, piano and a variety of other instrumentation with the sisters’ soaring harmonies and intimate lyrics of heartache, doubt and homesickness.”

The sophomore release from Seattle/Northern California band Craft Spells “features more intricate and sophisticated songs than their promising 2011 debut, along with a more polished and fleshed-out sound, incorporating piano, strings, wind instruments, mellotron and more.” San Francisco band The Fresh & Onlys share “another solid set of jangly psych-pop inflected with ‘80s dream-pop, surf, spaghetti western and other styles, featuring a variety of well-crafted songs ranging from propulsive rockers to atmospheric ballads.” And everyone’s been asking about the latest from London artist Tom Vek, which Yates describes as “another solid set of New Waveish electro-rock with jagged guitars, fuzzy synths, propulsive rhythms, monotone vocals and often-sardonic lyrics.”

Swedish project Lust For Youth has evolved from the solo project of producer Hannes Norrvide to a trio, “recasting their sound from droning lo-fi to a more fully produced and melodic kind of ‘80s-steeped electro-pop with warm synths, atmospheric guitars, occasional tropical textures and sturdy song hooks.” After 35 years, Pretenders frontwoman Chrissie Hynde releases her solo debut, collaborating with Björn Yttling of Peter Bjorn & John. And after almost 30 years, Cherry Red Records is reissuing the classic C86 compilation, originally released as a cassette in 1986 by NME Magazine. The infamous collection included then-unknowns like Primal Scream, The Pastels, Shop Assistants and The Wedding Present. The deluxe reissue has been expanded to a 3-CD set, featuring never-before-released tracks exclusive to this release.

(Various Artists)
from C86 compilation on Cherry Red

Anathema – “The Lost Song Part 3″
from Distant Satellites on Kscope

The Atlas Moth – “Collider”
from The Old Believer on Profound Lore Records

Tomas Barfod – “True To You (feat. Gruff Rhys)”
from Love Me on Secretly Canadian

Mark Barrott – “Baby Come Home”
from Sketches From an Island on International Feel Recordings

Andrew Bird – “Tin Foiled”
from Things Are Really Great Here, Sort Of… on Wegawam

Body Count – “Talk Shit, Get Shot”
from Manslaughter on Sumerian Records

Canibus – “Pay Me In Gold”
from Fait Accompli on RBC Records

Chief Keef – “Pull Up”
from Bang 3 on Glo Gang

Clipping – “Work Work (Feat. Cocc Pistol Cree)”
from CLPPNG on Sub Pop

Craft Spells – “Komorebi”
from Nausea on Captured Tracks

Don Caballero – “Five Pairs of Crazy Pants”
from Five Pairs of Crazy Pants Wear ‘Em: Early Caballero on Chunklet

Dub Club / The Lions – “Revelations (Alphabet City Dub)”
from This Generation In Dub on Stones Throw

Dub Thompson – “Dograces”
from 9 Songs on Dead Oceans Records

Falconer – “Locust Swarm”
from Black Moon Rising on Metal Blade

Fatboy Slim – “Bem Brasil”
from Bem Brasil on Astralwerks

First Aid Kit – “My Silver Lining”
from Stay Gold on Columbia / Sony Music

The Fresh & Onlys – “Who Let the Devil”
from House of Spirits on Mexican Summer

Mary Gauthier – “Another Train”
from Trouble & Love on In The Black Records

Half-Handed Cloud – “Flying Scroll Flight Control”
from Flying Scroll Flight Control on XXX

Dave Harrington – “Flash / All-One”
from Before This There Was One Heart But A Thousand Thoughts EP on Other People

Chrissie Hynde – “Dark Sunglasses”
from Stockholm on Caroline International

Kindred the Family Soul – “Everybody’s Hustling”
from A Couple Friends on Shanachie Records

Lust for Youth – “Epoetin Alfa”
from International on Sacred Bones

Mayday! / Murs – “Here”
from ¡Mursday! on Strange Music

The Phantom Band – “The Wind That Cried The World”
from Strange Friend on Chemikal Underground

Popcaan – “Love Yuh Bad”
from Where We Come From on Mixpak

Roll The Dice – “Assembly”
from Until Silence on The Leaf Label

Stagnant Pools – “You Whir”
from Geist on Polyvinyl

Alexander Turnquist – “Wildflower”
from Flying Fantasy on Cargo Records

Tom Vek – “Broke”
from Luck on Moshi Moshi Records

Jack White – “Lazaretto”
from Lazaretto on Columbia / Third Man Records

WIFE – “Heart Is A Far Light”
from What’s Between on Tri Angle

This entry was posted in KEXP, Out This Week! and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories