Wednesday Music News

photo by Renata Steiner (view set)

  • It’s been three long years, but Brooklyn band The Drums are back with a new song. Stripped back down to the founding duo of Jonny Pierce and Jacob Graham, Pierce explained the new song to “It’s about shedding off what binds you and protecting what’s good, finding a safe place away from everyone and everything that wants to destroy you.” Hear the result, “Magic Mountain,” below. The Drums will be back in Seattle on Thursday, October 9th at Neumos. [Consequence of Sound]

  • Another band who’ve been away for a while is The New Pornographers, and today we’ve got more new music to share from their forthcoming release, Brill Bruisers, out August 26th on Matador Records. In the clip for this Bejar-sung track, he and the Pornographers’ ringleader A.C. Newman stroll the brutal streets like the bruisers they are. Watch below: [Stereogum]

  • A particular favorite of fellow Floridian DJ Cheryl Waters, Merchandise share another single from their forthcoming album, After the End, out August 26th via 4AD. Check out the track “Enemy” below. The band have also announced their North American tour dates, including a Sunday, October 5th stop at The Crocodile in Seattle. [Consequence of Sound]

  • Seattle’s own Perfume Genius (aka Mike Hadreas) is back with a vengeance: check out the defiant track “Queen” from his upcoming sophomore release, Too Bright, out September 23rd on Matador Records. In a statement, Hadreas explained the song is about “gay panic,” adding, “Sometimes I see faces of blank fear when I walk by…if these fucking people want to give me some power—if they see me as some sea witch with penis tentacles that are always prodding and poking and seeking to convert the muggles—well, here she comes.” Perfume Genius has a hometown show scheduled for October 25th at the Neptune Theatre. [Pitchfork]

  • Have you been loving the summer groove of the latest single from Caribou? Do you wish the track was even longer? You’re in luck: check out the extended remix of “Can’t Do Without You” below. You can find the original version on the forthcoming album Our Love out October 7th on Merge Records. [Under the Radar]

This entry was posted in KEXP, Local Music, Music News and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Donate Now!

Donate to KEXP Today!

Donate to KEXP Today!
where the music matters

The KEXP Blog

Sponsored By
Become a KEXP Sponsor!
  • KEXP Post Categories